Skip to main content

Metallurgy and Materials Science

A research guide to help you find relevant books and articles in the field of metallurgy and materials science

Search the Library Catalogue

Search the library catalogue:

 Advanced Search

 

Searching the catalogue is one way to find books, handbooks, dictionaries and encyclopedias. You can use the catalogue search in the box above, or you can search from the Engineering & Computer Science Library's homepage.

Some possible keywords related to Metallurgy and Materials Science are:

  • surface engineering  
  • nanotechnology
  • solidification
  • process metallurgy
  • corrosion
  • excursion
  • crystallography
  • fatigue
  • metallurgy engineering

You might want to focus on a specific type of material, such as: 

  • metals
  • composite materials
  • nanomaterials
  • biomaterials
  • polymers
  • plastics
  • nuclear materials
  • glass
  • ceramic

Or a specific aspect of MSE, such as:

  • life cycle analysis
  • cost analysis
  • sustainability

Types of Books

When should I use handbooks or manuals?

  • You already know a bit about the topic
  • You want to find instructions, guidelines, or rules

Suggestions:

 Book Cover Image  CRC materials science and engineering handbook (print)

Call Number: Reference TA151 .C73 2001


   Book Cover Image  Engineering materials and processes desk reference (print)

Call Number: Reference TA403 .E48 2009


 Book Cover Image  Smithells metals reference book (ebook and print)

Call Number: Reference TN671 .S55 2004


 Book Cover Image  Handbook of advanced materials: enabling new designs (print)

Call Number: Stacks TA403.4 .W48 2004X


 Book Cover Image  Polymer data handbook (print)

Call Number: Stacks TA455 .P58 P675 2009X


 Book Cover Image  Handbook of Materials Structures, Properties, Processing and Performance (ebook)

 

 

When should I use dictionaries?

  • Finding definitions for terms or concepts

Suggestions:

 Book Cover Image Dictionary of Metals (ebook)


 Book Cover Image  A-Z powder metallurgy (print)

Call Number: Reference TN695 .G465 2005

When should I use encyclopedias?

  • Background information
  • Familiarizing yourself with a new topic

Suggestions:

 Book Cover Image  Encyclopedia of materials: science and technology (ebook and print)

Call Number: Stacks TA402 .E53 2001 11 vols.

Loading

ASM Handbooks

ASM stands for the American Society for Metals. They have published several volumes on subjects relevant to MSE. These handbooks are available online.