Research guides: HIS357H5: The European Renaissance: Foundations, Foundational Resources

Main Readings are from...

The Heart and Stomach of a King: Elizabeth I and the Politics of Sex and Power by Carole Levin
Publication Date: 2013 (2nd ed.)
Renaissance Humanism: An Anthology of Sources by Margaret L. King (Edited and Translated by)
Call Number: E-Book (3 users)
Publication Date: 2014
Short History of the Italian Renaissance by Kenneth R. Bartlett
Call Number: E-Book (single user)
Publication Date: 2013
The Cambridge Companion to Renaissance Humanism by Jill Kraye (Editor)
Publication Date: 1996
Virtue Politics: Soulcraft and Statecraft in Renaissance Italy by James Hankins
Publication Date: 2019
The Intellectual World of the Italian Renaissance by Christopher S. Celenza
Publication Date: 2017

Sample Reference Sources for Renaissance

The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance by Gordon Campbell
Publication Date: 2003 (E-Book)
This dictionary provides rich detail on all aspects of the Renaissance in 14th to 17th century Europe. It includes comprehensive coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period.
The entries include, for example, Livy in the Renaissance
Europe, 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World by Jonathan Dewald
Publication Date: 2004 (E-Book)
A six-volume survey of European history from 1450, the beginning of the print revolution, to 1789 and the French Revolution. Entries cover the period's significant personalities and meaningful developments in the arts, religion, politics, exploration, and warfare. For students, scholars, and general readers.
A History of Law in Europe: From the Early Middle Ages to the Twentieth Century by Antonio Padoa-Schioppa; Caterina Fitzgerald (Translator)
Publication Date: 2017 (E-Book)
Part II - The Age of the Classical Ius Commune (12th–15th centuries)
Part III - The Early Modern Period (16th–18th centuries)

How to Use Oxford Bibliographies Online

★ Oxford Bibliographies Online provides annotated bibliographies, which help you find primary sources and secondary sources, such as scholarly books, chapters, and articles.

Click and login with UTORID.

Oxford Bibliographies Online

0:00 -- Oxford Bibliographies Online is a tool, not for citing
1:35 -- Simple Search
2:46 -- India 'Mutiny' and 'Revolution,' 1857-1858 (entry) as an example
4:34 -- Finding Primary Sources and Secondary Sources
8:23 -- Get Help

Suggested Entries in Oxford Bibliographies

— Niccolò Machiavelli

— Machiavelli’s Political Thought

— Thomas More

— Lorenzo Valla

— Humanism

OED: Origin of Words

Oxford English Dictionary Online (OED)
To take advantage of OED, take a look at the Video guides
Entries in the OED are supported by quotation evidence with real examples of words in use shown throughout the written record.
The primary function of OED quotations is to illustrate the way a word or sense is used through its history from its earliest use to the present day or, in the case of obsolete words and senses, the last period during which it was in use.