Research guides: Resources Guide to Hong Kong Studies: Find Hong Kong Newspapers

Current Hong Kong Newspapers

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Current and archived news, business and company information worldwide.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window

South China Morning Post
Publication Date: 1903 -
明報 (Canada East Coast Ed.)
Publication Date: 1993 - present
星島日報 (Canada East Coast Ed.)
Publication Date: 1998 - 2022

Historical Hong Kong Newspapers

Old Hong Kong Newspapers
A digital collection provided by Hong Kong Public Libraries
華人報紙資料庫 The Contemporary China Newspaper Clippings Database (by Hong Kong Baptist University Library) 《華人報紙資料庫》匯集由香港浸會大學圖書館從不同途徑收集而來的早期及現代與華人有關的報紙剪報。經過相關版權的釐清，和資料文本的整理及編索後，《華人報紙資料庫》所含的歷史資料數目龐大且珍貴，資料庫更提供電子檢索，不僅方便查閱，更超越地域限制，大大降低獲取原始資料的難度。
聞庫
Hong Kong Early Tabloid Newspapers 香港早期小報 Hong Kong Early Tabloid Newspapers covers over eighty titles of early tabloids published in Hong Kong from 1924-1993, including some are regarded as mass-oriented newspapers. 「香港早期小報」涵蓋逾八十種報紙，以小報為主，年份由1924-1993，並包涵一些被視為大眾化取向的報紙。此文庫分兩期推出。第一期共選取 16 種報紙共 4,673 份，包括《香港華商總會報》、《立報》、《大觀影訊》、《每週電影》、《先導》、《掃蕩》、《居然》、Hongkong news、《香港日報》、《正報》、《捷報》、《大成晚報》、《紅綠晚報》、《天文臺》、《內幕觀察報》及《快報》。第二期共選取 70 種報紙共 507 份，包括《中南日報》、《自然日報》、《紅綠日報》、《越華報》、《羅賓漢》、《天星日報》、《先生日報》、《戲迷日報》、《麗的呼聲日報》、《娛樂之音》、《星島日報圖画特刊》、《中英報》、《伶星日報》、《大華報》、《中西日報》、《天下日報》、《平報》、《自由報》、《自然報》、《明星日報七彩畫刊》、《明燈日報（短版）》、《港報》、《星報》、《真報》、《銀燈 = 銀燈日報》、《新生晚報》、《晶報》、《香港鏡報》、《港潮日報》、《南中報晚刊》、《新聞夜報》、《新報》、《中國漫畫》、《中華漫畫》、《年輕人世界》、《每日漫畫》、《時代漫画日報》、《時代漫画周報》、《漫畫天地》、《漫畫周報》、《哈哈笑画》、《明報晚報》、《星期報》、《明燈日報（長版）》、《文匯報大公報聯合號外》、《今報》、《天天日報》、《正午報》、《先驅報》、《喜報》、《超然報》、《新午報》、《聲報》、《中午報》、《世界夜報》、《好報》、《快訊日報》、《南中報（響尾蛇）》、《南華晚報》、《香港夜報》、《真夜報》、《真欄日報》、《華人夜報》、《新夜報》、《新智日報》、《新潮報》、《環球報》、《衞星》、《香檳》及《靈簫》。

South China Morning Post
Publication Date: 1903 -

Hong Kong Newspaper Finding Aid
Historical Hong Kong Newspapers are available in various format (print, microfilm, online). Use this finding aid to locate the required issue.
Hong Kong Newspaper Clippings Accession List
Finding aid for the Hong Kong Newspaper Clippings Microfilm collection

The microfilm collection of Hong Kong Newspaper Clippings, dated from 1980’s to 1999, covering fifteen Hong Kong Chinese and English newspapers (see the list below), were compiled and fully indexed by Hong Kong Catholic Social Communications Office.

South China Morning Post 南華早報
Ming Pao 明報
Wen Wei Po 文匯報
The Standard 英文虎報
Wah Kiu Yat Po 華僑日報
Hong Kong Economic Journal 信報財經新聞
Ta Kung Pao 大公報
快報
Hong Kong Economic Times 香港經濟日報
Hong Kong Daily News 新報
Xing Tao Daily 星島日報

The following indexes (1980 - June, 1999) are available at the library.

八十年代香港報章剪報目錄
Call Number: AI19 .C5 H75 v.1-6
九0年香港報章剪報目錄
Call Number: AI19.C5 H76 1990 v.1-4
九一年香港報章剪報目錄.(分類)
Call Number: AI19.C5 H7611991 v.1
九二年香港報章剪報目
Call Number: AI19 .C5 H762 1992 v.1-4
九三年香港報章剪報目錄
Call Number: AI19 .C5 H763 1993 v.1-4
九四年香港報章剪報目錄
Call Number: AI19 .C H764 1994
九五年香港報章剪報目錄
Call Number: AI19 .C5 H765 1995 v.1-6
1996-1999 香港報章剪報目錄
Call Number: AI19 .C5 H78
January 1, 1996-June 30, 1999.

Newspapers Research Guide - University of Toronto Libraries

Other Historical Newspapers

Find Historical Newspapers at UTL

Newspapers
by Kyla Everall Last Updated Jul 17, 2023 7757 views this year

Find Historical Newspapers by Searching Google Newspaper Archive

Google allows you to search scanned newspapers over the past century or so.

1. Simple search: search terms site:news.google.com/newspapers.

For example, put "Hong Kong fall Japan site:news.google.com/newspapers" into the search box (no quotation marks) will get a list of newspaper articles reporting the fall of Hong Kong during the War World II.

2. Google News Archive Advanced search: https://news.google.com/news/advanced_news_search?as_drrb=a

Advanced news search includes four fields to enter queries. You can search for articles:

Containing all of the words you enter.
Containing the exact phrase you enter.
Containing at least one of the words you enter.
Not containing a word you enter.

Researrrrch Guides

Resources Guide to Hong Kong Studies

Current Hong Kong Newspapers

Historical Hong Kong Newspapers

Other Historical Newspapers

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us