Research guides: RLG206H5: Introduction to Buddhism: Reference Sources

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Brill's Encyclopedia of Buddhism Online
Volume I: literature and languages
— General: Canonicity, Tripiṭaka, Āgama/Nikāya, Vinayas, Abhidharma, Kanjur
— Mahāyāna Sūtra Literature
— Tantric Literature
— Nonscriptural: Commentary, Belles Lettres, Dramatic Works, Philosophical Literature, Ritual Texts, etc.
Volume II:
Lives 1: Śākyamuni: South Asia & Barlaam and Josaphat
Lives 2: South & Southeast Asia, East Asia, China, Korea, Japan, and Tibetan Cultural Sphere
Encyclopedia of Buddhism
one-volume desk reference, documenting the history, doctrines, schools, rituals, sacred places, basic ideas and concepts, and globalization of the entire Buddhist tradition.
A Dictionary of Buddhism (electronic resource and print UTM Reference BQ130 .K46 2003)
Entries on the history and doctrines of the major Buddhist schools, information on the spread of Buddhism in Asia and the West.
UofT at Mississauga
Reference
BQ130 .K46 2003
Critical terms for the study of Buddhism (electronic and print UofT at Mississauga Stacks BQ4040 .C75 2005)
UofT at Mississauga
Stacks
BQ4040 .C75 2005
Buddhism: the basics (electronic resource)
Covers principal traditions practices and beliefs ethical guidelines and philosophy religious texts including a detailed map of the Buddhist world, glossary of terms

Encyclopedia of Religion (2nd ed.)
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2004
— takes a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role in everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.
— contains authoritative information on a wide range of topics related to religion and spiritual practice, including belief, worship, religious art and architecture, rituals, myths, and symbols.
— has extensive biographical profiles of major figures in the world's religions and religious studies.
Encyclopedia of Buddhism by Robert E. Buswell (Editor)
Call Number: UofT at Mississauga Reference BQ128 .E62 2004
Publication Date: 2005-06-01
Providing a comprehensive overview of one of Asia's most important religious and social forces. Contains entries on Buddhist scriptures, art, architecture, saints, demons, monastic orders, festivals, rites and ceremonies.
UofT at Mississauga
Reference
BQ128 .E62 2004
Encyclopedia of Buddhism Note: UofT at Mississauga Course Reserves BQ128 .E53 2007 by Charles S. Prebish (Editor); Damien Keown (Editor)
Call Number: UofT at Mississauga Reference DS4 .E53 2002
Publication Date: 2004-02-20
With around 1200 entries, this encyclopedia presents an accurate overview of Buddhist history, thought and practices and reflects the state of scholarship in Buddhist studies.
UofT at Mississauga
Course Reserves
BQ128 .E53 2007
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia
Call Number: UofT at Mississauga Reference DS4 .E53 2002
Publication Date: 2002-11-27
Historical articles emphasize people, places, events, and developments that have had a lasting influence on Asia.

UofT at Mississauga
Reference
DS4 .E53 2002

Key sources for research in Buddhism - Oxford Bibliograhphies Online

The list of recommended sources provided by the resource listed below is an excellent way for students to locate key works on topics.

Please note:

"Find this resource" accompanying each citation is looking for electronic versions. Many of these items are only available in print, so please search the catalogue. Check the tab on FINDING BOOKS if you need help.

An excellent selection of journal articles are available however you may need to search for them if they don't connect.

Check under the tab NO LINK TO THE ARTICLE? HERE'S HOW TO LOCATE IT

Buddhism - Oxford Bibliographiies
Guide to scholarly literature on Buddhism, with articles by established scholars covering major aspects of research with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.

Art Sources

Oxford Art Online
The gateway to Oxford’s art reference works, including the peer-reviewed, regularly updated Grove® Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists.
Artstor
Includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as other forms of visual culture.
Timeline of Art History
A searchable, chronological, geographical, and thematic database of art history provided by the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City. It includes more than 700 signed thematic articles, timelines accompanied by world and regional maps and an image database of the museum's collections of art and artifacts which together provide a linear outline of art history.
Himalayan Art Resources
Himalayan Art Resources features thousands of artworks from Tibet, Nepal, Bhutan, India, China and Mongolia. The site presents art from leading private and museum collections, accompanied by scholarship, cataloging and interpretation.