Research guides: HIS433: Polish Jews Since the Partitions of Poland: Journals

Journal article databases

Central and Eastern European Online Library
Google Scholar
Be sure to configure your Google Scholar for University of Toronto Libraries under 'Settings.'

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The definitive index of literature covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary search engine of academic journals, books, and other materials across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection This link opens in a new window

RAMBI: The index of articles on Jewish Studies
Major article index for Jewish Studies in many languages. Only lists articles in academic journals, Festschriften, memorial volumes and essay collections. Depends on the holdings of the National Library of Israel, where it is published. Covers 1966+
Slavic Humanities Index
Summon
Click the "Articles" tab on the library home page to search Summon. Summon is a major, interdisciplinary database, which allows you to search entire articles for your keywords.
To find more:
Select "Subjects A to Z" on the library home page. Then choose a discipline, such as 'History-General' or 'History-by Topic.'Also find Historical Periodicals.

You can find journal articles by searching general databases like the library home page or google scholar. You may also want to consider more specialized databases, like the ones below.

List of Periodicals from the Petro Jacyk Central and East European Resource Centre

List of Periodicals in the Petro Jacyk Centre
List of print Central and Eastern European periodicals. On any give page, you can click on country sort to see the Polish journals grouped together.

Selected Jewish Studies journals

AJS Review
Scholarly journal of the Association for Jewish Studies. Electronic coverage from 1976. Print coverage from 1976.
American Jewess online:1895-1899
First publication aimed at American-Jewish women.
Hebrew Union College Annual
Print coverage from 1924 to present. Electronic coverage from 1924 to 2018.
Jewish History
Electronic coverage from 1986 to present. Print coverage from 1986 to 2004.
Jewish Quarterly Review
Electronic coverage from 1888. For issues from 1888-2006, see JSTOR or our print holdings
Jewish Studies Quarterly
Journal of Jewish Studies
Electronic coverage from 1948. Print coverage from 1948.
Journal of Modern Jewish Studies
Electronic coverage from 2002
Nashim: A Journal of Jewish Women's Studies & Gender Issues
Shofar: An Interdisciplinary Journal of Jewish Studies
Electronic coverage from 1999. Print coverage from 1982.
Tarbits
Premier Hebrew-language general Jewish Studies journal. Print coverage from 1929 to present. Electronic coverage from 1929 to two years ago
Canadian Jewish Studies / Études juives canadiennes
Canadian Jewish Studies / Études juives canadiennes is an interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal devoted to original scholarship that illuminates any and all aspects of the Canadian Jewish experience. Published annually since 1993 and bi-annually since 2019 by the Association for Canadian Jewish Studies / l’Association d’études juives canadiennes (ACJS/Aéjc), the electronic version of journal is free and accessible at https://cjs.journals.yorku.ca/ index.php/cjs.

Get the journal

To access an article from a citation in a database:

If you see a [fulltext] link, select it.

If you see a or SFX button, select it. This will link to the article online, if we have it. If we don't have it online, it will search the library catalogue for you to tell you if we have it in print.

To find an item from a bibliography:

Method 1: Go to the library home page and enter your article title in the search box. It may help to put quotes on the title. This should find your article if it is online.

Method 2: Look up the name of the journal that the article is published in, in the library catalogue, to find out if we have it in print or online. Write down the name of the library, and the journal's call number in that library. Make sure we have the volume that you want.

Keyword search examples in Historical Abstracts

Example topic: Discuss the role that the peasants played in the French Revolution.

1. What are the most important ideas in your topic? Brainstorm keywords. Look for synonyms, word variations, more specific words or examples, or broader terms.

french revolution

peasants, peasant, peasantry, rural, agrarian

2. Put your keywords together in a search string:

peasants and french revolution

peasant* and french revolution

land reform and french revolution

3. * (asterisk) finds different word endings (the symbol may vary from database to database)

peasant* finds peasant or peasants

feudal* finds feudal, or feudalism

4. and focuses your search by finding articles with both terms in the record, e.g., peasants and french revolution

Additional example:

canad* and immigra* and ital* (for Italian immigration to Canada)

Advanced keyword searching

Example topic: Discuss the role that the peasants played in the French Revolution.

or finds alternative words. Enclose all words joined by 'or' in brackets.

french revolution and (peasant* or rural or agrarian)

Additional example:

(aboriginal or native or indian*) and self-government
(for aboriginal self-government)