Research guides: WGS335H5: Women, Migration and Diaspora: Finding Articles

Finding Articles - Using Databases

Use the databases below to find scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles for your assignment.

★ Make sure to use Ulrich's Web if the database does not have a peer-review option. ★

Gender Studies Database [EBSCO]
Provides interdisciplinary coverage of gender-related topics including women's studies, men's studies, ethnic studies, health issues, and sexual diversity.
LGBTQ+ Source [EBSCO]
Index to Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender literature, with full text for some important GLBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers. Disciplines covered by GLBT Life include civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, politics, psychology, religion, sociology and more.
Contemporary Women's Issues [Gale]
Includes: mainstream periodicals, "gray" literature, and the alternative press -- with a focus on the critical issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries.
Sociological Abstracts [ProQuest]
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
See our video tutorial below.
APA PsycInfo®
The major index for scholarly literature in psychology from the 1800’s to the present. PsycInfo includes material of relevance to practitioners, researchers and students working in all areas of psychology, the behavioural sciences, and other related disciplines.
Education Source [EBSCO]
Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing. Subject matter includes Adult Education, Continuing Education, Distance Learning, Government Funding, Multicultural/Ethic Education, Social Issues, Student Counseling, Vocational Education as well as many others.

GEOBASE This link opens in a new window
Database for physical and human geography, earth and environmental sciences, ecology, and related disciplines, focusing on the human and social impacts on both.

* Some contents can be primary sources as well.

Video Instruction for ProQuest and Ebsco Databases

ProQuest databases generally work the same no matter what the subject area is. Ebsco databases generally work the same as well, with only minor differences to suit the needs of the particular subject area.

These video for ProQuest's Sociological Abstracts and Ebsco's Index Islamicus may not address the particular ProQuest or Ebsco databases that you want to use, but the videos will give you a general idea on how to use any of their databases.

All Purpose Citation Indexes

Web of Science: Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Web of Science and Scopus are most often used in the sciences, but you can use the refinement features to limit your searches to the humanities and social sciences.

Graduate Level Dissertations

Dissertations & Theses Global Closed Collection This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive worldwide collection of dissertations and theses from 1746. Full text for most dissertations added since 1997 onwards.

Find an Article from a Citation

Connect Google Scholar and LibrarySearch

Google Scholar
★ Be mindful that Google Scholar retrieves information on not only books and peer-reviewed articles (Published Versions of Record and Accepted Author Manuscripts), but also pre-prints, conference proceedings, white papers, theses and dissertations and more.

★ When you want to use Google Scholar to find articles published by JSTOR, enter site:jstor.org with your keywords. If you want to search articles published by Project MUSE, enter site:muse.jhu.edu after your keywords. Similarly, if you want to find articles published by Cambridge Journals, enter site:cambridge.org after your keywords. Other examples include site:journals.sagepub.com and site:tandfonline.com

★ ★ ★ Ulrichsweb
Students are encouraged to visit Ulrichsweb to check whether the journal that they found is peer-reviewed. For 'peer reviewed' the site uses the term 'referred'.

How to configure Google Scholar to have it recognize you as a member of the UofT community

If you don't see Get full text when you are off-campus using Google Scholar, connect Google Scholar to our Library resources in order to read and download articles without paying unnecessary fees. Remember that the University of Toronto Libraries have already paid subscription fees for most of the articles.

To link Google Scholar to the University of Toronto Libraries, see the instruction below.

Peer Review Check with Ulrichsweb

Ulrichsweb.com
If you are not sure whether a journal is peer-reviewed or not, this database is very helpful.
Instead of using "peer reviewed," they use referred.

Watch the following video to take advantage of Ulrichsweb:

0:00 – How to find Ulrichsweb, using LibrarySearch
0:51 -- Remember to type in the JOURNAL title, not the article title
1:58 -- Make sure your article is a research article, since peer reviewed journals have other content
3:21 -- You can access the journal through Ulrichsweb