Research Guides: Career Development: Home

MCAT Verbal Practice

Need lots and LOTS of practice for the MCAT CARS section? This book has over one hundred practice passages arranged in a dozen timed practice verbal sections to help you hone your critical analysis and reasoning skills. This book is meant for a student who has already gotten a start with different reading strategies and now needs to hone their skills with lots of practice. If you're looking to get an introduction to the CARS section and strategies to master it, pick up Next Step's MCAT CARS: Strategy and Practice book in addition to this book. Those who purchase a Next Step book also get free access to our online MCAT diagnostic test.

The Essential Digital Interview Handbook

In today's increasingly interconnected world, virtual meetings have become a staple of business practice. Unsurprisingly, so has the digital interview. Physical distance between potential employers and job-seekers is no longer the impediment it once was for face-to-face engagement. In the past year alone, the number of people who use Skype for this purpose has risen from about 300 million to more than 405 million, with a whopping 66-percent increase in users who log in from their mobile devices. These numbers point to one simple fact: you need 'The Essential Digital Interview Handbook.'

Strengthening Mental Health Through Effective Career Development

This book makes the case that career development practice is a mental health intervention, and provides skills and strategies to support career development practitioners in their work. It explores how practitioners do far more than help people prepare for, enter and navigate career pathways - they change people's lives in ways that improve mental health and overall well-being. The guide shows ways to connect career development services to clients' mental health concerns while working ethically and within the boundaries of competence and role. Practitioners will be equipped to improve their career development services, broaden their view of client concerns to include well-being outcomes as part of a whole-person approach to career/life planning, and strengthen their collaboration with healthcare service providers. The authors also emphasize their focus is mental health, not mental illness, and address this distinction in the book.

Packaging Yourself

Does your resume correspond to your LinkedIn profile? Have you simply recounted your work history in your resume, or have you "packaged" yourself to be seen the way you want to be seen? PACKAGING YOURSELF is the only book on the market that uses case studies to teach you the nuances of resume preparation, as well as how to combine it with your LinkedIn profile. The average resume is looked at for only ten seconds. Make yours stand out. Learn how to highlight your strengths and hide your weaknesses. Prepare a marketing piece that dynamically presents you just the way you want prospective employers to see you. Learn how to present yourself effectively on LinkedIn and other media. You'll learn to create an exciting resume that will, make the reader want to call you in for a meeting, and will guide the interviewing process and bring out the best points about yourself, develop the accomplishment statements that form the backbone of your resume, and write a summary that increases your chance of getting just the job you want.

How to Build a Nontraditional Career Path

An invaluable resource for general readers at any career stage, this book explains why, when, and how to engage in a fulfilling, nontraditional career path that is both inspiring and practical. * Identifies the skills needed to be successful and the key questions to ask when considering a nontraditional career—and provides the tools and a "road map" to move forward in a nontraditional direction * Establishes the relevance and value of a nontraditional career, addressing both strategic and practical aspects * Provides authoritative, experience-based information derived from the author's own success in creating a nontraditional career path as well as his broad experience in the career field working with individuals and organizations

Transferable Skills Training for Researchers

Researchers are embarking on increasingly diverse careers where collaboration, networking and interdisciplinarity are becoming more important. Transferable skills (e.g. communication skills and problem-solving abilities) can help researchers operate more effectively in different work environments. While researchers acquire some of these skills in the course of studies and work, attention is turning to the role of formal training. This study analyses countries' government and institutional level policies on formal training in transferable skills for researchers, from doctoral students through to experienced research managers. It draws on results from a cross-country policy quesionnaire on transferable skills training strategies and programmes, including formal training and workplace-based options, as well as discussions at a policy-oriented workshop with OECD delegates and experts. The study represents a first step to analysing transferable skills for researchers in OECD countries. The study points to the significant role of individual institutions in setting strategies and providing transferable skills training programmes. While the scope for governments to improve on current arrangements is difficult to assess, the study suggests policy makers could boost policy monitoring and evaluation, facilitate dialogue between academia and industry, encourage workplace-based training options, and leverage collaborative research to support transferable skills training for researchers at all levels.

MCAT Verbal Practice

Need lots and LOTS of practice for the MCAT CARS section? This book has over one hundred practice passages arranged in a dozen timed practice verbal sections to help you hone your critical analysis and reasoning skills. This book is meant for a student who has already gotten a start with different reading strategies and now needs to hone their skills with lots of practice. If you're looking to get an introduction to the CARS section and strategies to master it, pick up Next Step's MCAT CARS: Strategy and Practice book in addition to this book. Those who purchase a Next Step book also get free access to our online MCAT diagnostic test.

The Essential Digital Interview Handbook

In today's increasingly interconnected world, virtual meetings have become a staple of business practice. Unsurprisingly, so has the digital interview. Physical distance between potential employers and job-seekers is no longer the impediment it once was for face-to-face engagement. In the past year alone, the number of people who use Skype for this purpose has risen from about 300 million to more than 405 million, with a whopping 66-percent increase in users who log in from their mobile devices. These numbers point to one simple fact: you need 'The Essential Digital Interview Handbook.'

Strengthening Mental Health Through Effective Career Development

This book makes the case that career development practice is a mental health intervention, and provides skills and strategies to support career development practitioners in their work. It explores how practitioners do far more than help people prepare for, enter and navigate career pathways - they change people's lives in ways that improve mental health and overall well-being. The guide shows ways to connect career development services to clients' mental health concerns while working ethically and within the boundaries of competence and role. Practitioners will be equipped to improve their career development services, broaden their view of client concerns to include well-being outcomes as part of a whole-person approach to career/life planning, and strengthen their collaboration with healthcare service providers. The authors also emphasize their focus is mental health, not mental illness, and address this distinction in the book.

Packaging Yourself

Does your resume correspond to your LinkedIn profile? Have you simply recounted your work history in your resume, or have you "packaged" yourself to be seen the way you want to be seen? PACKAGING YOURSELF is the only book on the market that uses case studies to teach you the nuances of resume preparation, as well as how to combine it with your LinkedIn profile. The average resume is looked at for only ten seconds. Make yours stand out. Learn how to highlight your strengths and hide your weaknesses. Prepare a marketing piece that dynamically presents you just the way you want prospective employers to see you. Learn how to present yourself effectively on LinkedIn and other media. You'll learn to create an exciting resume that will, make the reader want to call you in for a meeting, and will guide the interviewing process and bring out the best points about yourself, develop the accomplishment statements that form the backbone of your resume, and write a summary that increases your chance of getting just the job you want.

How to Build a Nontraditional Career Path

An invaluable resource for general readers at any career stage, this book explains why, when, and how to engage in a fulfilling, nontraditional career path that is both inspiring and practical. * Identifies the skills needed to be successful and the key questions to ask when considering a nontraditional career—and provides the tools and a "road map" to move forward in a nontraditional direction * Establishes the relevance and value of a nontraditional career, addressing both strategic and practical aspects * Provides authoritative, experience-based information derived from the author's own success in creating a nontraditional career path as well as his broad experience in the career field working with individuals and organizations

Transferable Skills Training for Researchers

Researchers are embarking on increasingly diverse careers where collaboration, networking and interdisciplinarity are becoming more important. Transferable skills (e.g. communication skills and problem-solving abilities) can help researchers operate more effectively in different work environments. While researchers acquire some of these skills in the course of studies and work, attention is turning to the role of formal training. This study analyses countries' government and institutional level policies on formal training in transferable skills for researchers, from doctoral students through to experienced research managers. It draws on results from a cross-country policy quesionnaire on transferable skills training strategies and programmes, including formal training and workplace-based options, as well as discussions at a policy-oriented workshop with OECD delegates and experts. The study represents a first step to analysing transferable skills for researchers in OECD countries. The study points to the significant role of individual institutions in setting strategies and providing transferable skills training programmes. While the scope for governments to improve on current arrangements is difficult to assess, the study suggests policy makers could boost policy monitoring and evaluation, facilitate dialogue between academia and industry, encourage workplace-based training options, and leverage collaborative research to support transferable skills training for researchers at all levels.

MCAT Verbal Practice

Need lots and LOTS of practice for the MCAT CARS section? This book has over one hundred practice passages arranged in a dozen timed practice verbal sections to help you hone your critical analysis and reasoning skills. This book is meant for a student who has already gotten a start with different reading strategies and now needs to hone their skills with lots of practice. If you're looking to get an introduction to the CARS section and strategies to master it, pick up Next Step's MCAT CARS: Strategy and Practice book in addition to this book. Those who purchase a Next Step book also get free access to our online MCAT diagnostic test.