App-Books
These are only a small selection of the app-books that you can purchase. App-books take advantage of touch-screen interactivity and internet connectivity to offer an enhanced textbook experience. Check to see if your most-used reference texts are available in app-book format!
- Oxford Dictionary of Dentistry
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
"The Dictionary of Dentistry provides over 4,000 definitions covering all the important terms and concepts used in dentistry today. An essential guide for dental practitioners and dental students, it is also an invaluable reference source for all members of the dental team, medical practitioners, lawyers involved with members of the dental profession, and the general reader."
A 2010 eBook version of the dictionary is available through the Dentistry Library. - Oxford Handbook of Clinical Dentistry
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
"The authors have distilled the essentials of clinical practice into a readily accessible style. Concise and practically focused, the handbook balances a pragmatic approach alongside evidence-based clinical knowledge, guidelines and protocols. This handbook is in full colour, with even more images and diagrams to aid understanding. It has been fully updated with sources and further reading, including the most up-to-date e-learning and web resources." This app-book "includes unique functions such as:
• A powerful search
• Bookmarks
• Complete set of medical calculators; Body Mass Index, Peak Expiratory Flows, Dehydration Correction Calculator and more
• Highlighting
• History
• Notes and picture notes"
Note: The print version of this book is available from UTL Downsview (for more information, click the book's title above). The app-book version must be purchased separately, and is not available from the Library. - Mosby's Dental Drug Reference, 11th Edition
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The app-book for Mosby's Dental Drug Reference "includes unique functions such as:
- A powerful search
- Bookmarks
- Complete set of medical calculators; Body Mass Index, Peak Expiratory Flows, Dehydration Correction Calculator and more
- Highlighting
- High resolution pictures
- History
- Notes and picture notes"
Note: The print version of this book is available at the Dentistry Library (for more information, click the book's title above). The app-book version must be purchased separately, and is not available from the Library.
Free Apps for Journals and eBooks
- Dental Update
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
"Dental Update publishes postgraduate articles covering new and established clinical treatment. All articles are peer reviewed, offering subscribers an unbiased and professional platform for continuing professional development and education in the UK."
Some of the following apps would be free to anyone to download, but they require paid subscriptions to access some of the book or journal content. Most of this content is available to you through U of T Libraries, for as long as you are affiliated with U of T.
Coming Soon: Information about apps for journals available through U of T Libraries!
- BrowZine
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"The bookshelf-style app BrowZine allows you to browse, read, share, and save online journals directly to your tablet or smartphone [...] BrowZine gives U of T students, faculty, and staff easy access to many of the University of Toronto Libraries' licensed online journals from both large academic publishers and open access publishers." - Wiley Health AppsWiley offers health sciences journal apps as well as medical education books apps. So far most apps are only available for iOS devices.