Research guides: HLTC43: Politics of Canadian Health Policy: Policy Documents

Policy Databases

The following databases include a variety of policy-related materials. These databases' resources are particularly helpful for policy analysis.

Policy Commons This link opens in a new window
The world's largest database for public policy, with millions of reports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources, and media drawn from a directory of more than 20,000 IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, and research centers. Includes the Canadian Public Policy Document Collection.
Canadian Research Index This link opens in a new window
Includes federal, provincial, and municipal documents, publications issued by hundreds of Canadian government agencies and departments, scientific and technical report literature issued by research institutes and government laboratories, policy, social, economic, and political reports, and more.
Canadian Public Documents Collection on Scholars Portal This link opens in a new window
Curated collection of publications from Canadian research institutes, government agencies and university centres working in the area of Canadian public policy, health and medical research. Includes the Canadian Public Policy Collection and Canadian Health Research Collection. IMPORTANT NOTE: In the drop-down menu for Collection, select Canadian Public Documents Collection.

Canadian Think Tanks Collection on Scholars Portal Books
Curated collection of publications from Canadian think tanks. IMPORTANT NOTE: In the drop-down menu for Collection, select Canadian Think Tanks Collection.
Canadian Electronic Library on Scholars Portal Books
A collection of books from Canada's scholarly and independent publishers, as well as public policy papers from think tanks and government sources. IMPORTANT NOTE: In the drop-down menu for Collection, select Canadian Electronic Library.

Health Policy Websites

The following organizations may produce policy documents, policy briefs, or policy analyses. Check for sections on their websites related to publications or resources.

Government Publications

Government of Canada Publications
Catalogue of over 570,000 publications. Search for policy documents from Canadian government agencies.
Policies, Regulations and Laws by Department or Agency - Government of Canada
Find the regulations, policies and laws relevant to any department or agency of the Government of Canada.

Health Agencies and Organizations

Health Canada
Health Canada is responsible for helping Canadians maintain and improve their health. It ensures that high-quality health services are accessible, and works to reduce health risks. See their section on Reports and Publications.
Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC)
The Public Health Agency of Canada is an agency of the Government of Canada that is responsible for public health, emergency preparedness and response, and infectious and chronic disease control and prevention.
Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI)
CIHI is the authority for healthcare system data in Canada, including expenditures and performance, and health system usage.
Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR)
The Canadian Institutes of Health Research is the major federal agency responsible for funding health and medical research in Canada. Composed of 13 Institutes, CIHR collaborates with partners and researchers to support the discoveries and innovations that improve our health and strengthen our health care system.
National Collaborating Centres for Public Health
The six National Collaborating Centres (NCCs) for Public Health work together to promote the use of scientific research and other knowledge to strengthen public health practices, programs and policies in Canada. The centres focus on the following health priorities: Indigenous health, determinants of health, healthy public policy, environmental health, infectious diseases, and methods and tools.
Canadian Centre on Substance Use and Addiction
The Canadian Centre on Substance Use and Addiction (CCSA) has been working at the forefront of substance use disorders, using evidence-based research to drive meaningful change.
Public Health Ontario (PHO)
Public Health Ontario is dedicated to protecting and promoting the health of all Ontarians and reducing inequities in health.
World Health Organization (WHO)
The World Health Organization is a specialized agency of the United Nations responsible for international public health.

Professional Associations

Canadian Public Health Association
The Canadian Public Health Association (CPHA) is a national, independent, not-for-profit, voluntary association representing public health in Canada with links to the international public health community. Their website includes a section on policy and advocacy.
Canadian Mental Health Association
The Canadian Mental Health Association (CMHA) is a community mental health organization that provides advocacy, programs, and resources that help to prevent mental health problems and illnesses and support recovery and resilience. Their website includes policy statements.
Canadian Association for Health Services and Policy Research
The Canadian Association for Health Services and Policy Research (CAHSPR) is a multidisciplinary association dedicated to improving health and health care by advancing the quality, relevance, and application of research on health services and health policy.
College of Family Physicians of Canada
The College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) is the professional organization supports family medicine teaching and research, and advocates on behalf of the specialty of family medicine, family physicians, and the patients they serve. Their website includes policy statements, discussion papers on health care, primary care, and family medicine issues and policies.
Canadian Paediatric Society
The CPS is the professional home of more than 3600 paediatricians, paediatric sub-specialists and other child health providers.

Think Tanks and Research Institutions

CCPA: Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives
An independent, progressive voice concerned with issues of social and economic justice.
The Institute for Research on Public Policy
The IRPP seeks to improve public policy in Canada by generating research, providing insight and informing debate on current and emerging policy issues facing Canadians and their governments
The Fraser Institute
The Fraser Institute is a Canadian public policy think tank and registered charity. TIP: Use the research dropdown menu at the top of the page to get to documents on specific themes.
Canadian Council on Social Development
The CCSD was a not-for-profit, non-partisan organization that partnered and collaborated with all sectors and communities to advance solutions to social challenges. Although CCSD is no longer active, you can access their reports and reports in their online archive.
Canadian Women's Health Network
The Canadian Women's Health Network (CWHN) is a network of individuals, groups, organizations and institutions concerned with women's health. The CWHN provides access to a wide variety of health resources, including health policy.
Centre for Health Economics & Policy Analysis (McMaster)
CHEPA Faculty members produce an average of 110 publications per year, including books, peer-reviewed articles, editorials and government reports.
Children's Health Policy Centre (Faculty of Health Sciences, Simon Fraser)
This research group focuses on integrating research and policy to improve children’s social and emotional well-being or children’s mental health. Includes articles and research reports.
Institute for Clinical Evaluative Sciences (ICES)
Established in 1992, this non-profit research organization is dedicated to conducting research that contributes to improved health care in Ontario. ICES holds restricted-access Ontario administrative health databases. Information about access for graduate students is available here
Wellesley Institute
The Wellesley Institute works in research and policy to improve health and health equity in the GTA through action on the social determinants of health. Their website has research reports, policy briefs, and other publications.
Health Systems and Policy Monitor
An innovative platform that provides a detailed description of health systems and provides up to date information on reforms and changes that are particularly policy relevant.

HLTC43: Politics of Canadian Health Policy

Policy Databases

Health Policy Websites

Government Publications

Health Agencies and Organizations

Professional Associations

Think Tanks and Research Institutions

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us