Find Adverts, Newspapers, Magazines - HPS319H1 - History of Medicine II: 17th-20th century (Fall 2019)

Historical Newspapers

Historical Newspaper Archives - A Very Small Selection

New York Times (1851-2009)
The Times (of London) Digital Archive (1785-2002)
The Wall Street Journal (1889-1996)
The Washington Post (1877-1997)

UofT libraries has hundreds of newspaper archives - too many to list here. If you've got a particular newspaper in mind, look up the title in the library catalogue to find out if we have it online, in print, or on microfilm.

There are also open-access newspaper archives available through Library and Archives Canada. Click here for a direct link to their resources.

Historical Popular Magazines - 18th & 19th Century

Eighteenth Century Journals I-V
This Portal brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years. Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging and include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton; the French Revolution; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and coffee house gossip and discussion.

Eighteenth Century Journals IV Newspapers and Periodicals 1708-1820
This Portal brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years. Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging and include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton; the French Revolution; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and coffee house gossip and discussion.
The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900
A premier research tool for 19th century studies and the Victorian era. The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals provides a unique record of Victorian thought and opinion across a wide range of subjects, including literature and politics. The database is an index to the authorship of articles, and provides a bibliography of articles written by each contributor, and using each pseudonym. It is searchable by keyword, date, name of contributor, pseudonym, periodical title, and periodical subject.
19th Century UK Periodicals: New Readerships & Empire

Historical Popular Magazines - 20th Century

Readers Guide Retrospective
Online version of The Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, an index to popular American periodicals. Material from 1890 to 1982.

Libris Canadiana
Indexes Canadian Magazines from the 19th Century through the early to mid-20th Century. Titles include: Maclean's Magazine (1905-1976), Index to Saturday Night (1887-1945), An Annotated Index to The Canadian Bookman, 1909-1910; 1915; 1919-1939, and others. See the sources tab for a complete list of titles.

American Periodicals Series (Collection I)
American Periodicals Series Online includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.

African American Periodicals
African American Periodicals allows users to search more than 170 African American Periodicals published between 1825 and 1995. Created by Readex through a partnership with the Wisconsin Historical Society, African American Periodicals enables researchers to explore African American culture, thought and opinion ranging over more than 150 years of African American life.

Sources for Advertisements

Ad*Access
The Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II, providing a coherent view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images preserved in one particular advertising collection available at Duke University.
Advertising Archives
An online searchable collection of over 50,000 images of press and TV advertising, magazines, cinema posters, ephemera, and comics.
History of Advertising Trust
A large archive of UK advertising history. Currently, every entry to the British Television Advertising Awards from 1977 to the present are available online (Arrows Archive).
Tobacco Advertising
Tobacco Advertising and Anti-Smoking materials from the William Van Duyn Collection, Medical Historical Library, Harvey Cushing/John Hay Whitney Medical Library

Research Guides

HPS319H1 - History of Medicine II: 17th-20th century (Fall 2019)

Historical Newspapers

Historical Popular Magazines - 18th & 19th Century

Historical Popular Magazines - 20th Century

Sources for Advertisements

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us