Research Guides: WGS367H5: Health Promotion: Find Articles

Public Health

"Public health research often focuses on health promotion and disease prevention to ensure the health of populations. A key element in public health research is defining what public health interventions or programs work most effectively to generate a positive, population-level change in public health."

Porche, James Demetrius. Public & Community Health Nursing Practice: A Population-Based Approach. SAGE, 2004. http://dx.doi.org.myaccess.library.utoronto.ca/10.4135/9781483328669.n15.

Government Sites

Public Health Agency of Canada: Canadian Best Practices Portal
The Portal links to resources and solutions to plan programs for promoting health and preventing diseases for populations and communities.

Article Databases via UTL

Web of Science
interdisciplinary database
PubMed
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
The Cochrane Library
A collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers, and a federated search feature that incorporates results from external databases.
Trip Database
Medical search engine with emphasis on evidence based medicine (EBM) and clinical guidelines and queries, including content from Cochrane and Bandolier. Register to benefit from extra features such as CPD, search history, and collaborative tools.
EMBASE (Ovid)
Embase increases the discovery of biomedical evidence to support critical life sciences functions, delivering relevant, up-to-date biomedical information to the global biomedical research community. Areas include:
— Biotechnology and biomedical engineering, including medical devices
— Health policy and management, including pharmacoeconomics
— Public, occupational and environmental health, including pollution control
HealthSTAR (Ovid)
Published research on health services, technology, administration, and research, focusing on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery.
Medline (Ovid)
The U.S. National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database that contains over 16 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.
CINAHL Plus (EBSCO)
(Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health) Covers material on nursing and allied health, occupational therapy, physical therapy, and rehabilitation sciences, from 1982 to present.
[ProQuest] PAIS Index
PAIS International is the current file covering 1972 to present, and PAIS Archive includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976.
PsycINFO (ProQuest)
The major index for scholarly literature in psychology from the 1800’s to the present. PsycInfo includes material of relevance to practitioners, researchers and students working in all areas of psychology, the behavioural sciences, and other related disciplines.

Grey Literature

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Provides a collection of full-text dissertations and theses.

Freely Available Databases

Database of Promoting Health Effectiveness Reviews (DoPHER)
[UCL Institute of Education, UK] A collection of systematic and non-systematic reviews of effectiveness in health promotion and public health worldwide.
Health Evidence^TM
[McMaster University] Consists of 6,078 quality-rated systematic reviews evaluating the effectiveness and cost-effectiveness of public health interventions, including cost data.
Public Health +
[McMaster University] A database of only high quality pre-appraised studies and reviews relevant to public health
OpenMD.com
OpenMD's search prioritizes freely-accessible content whenever available.