Research guides: BCH370F: Laboratory Course in Biochemical Techniques: Home

Welcome

This guide is primarily intended for students in BCH 370F Laboratory Course in Biochemical Techniques.

This is a selective guide to the selective e-resources that will support your assignments and learning.

Places to search for articles with a biochemistry focus.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Large biomedical journal article database. Indexes thousands of biomedical journals. International in coverage. Freely available interface to search MEDLINE.

MEDLINE
Premier database for biomedical journal articles. Interface allows for expert searching (e.g. use of MeSH) when conducting systematic reviews, scoping reviews, etc. Covers approx. 4000 journals; international in scope.

BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Large biomedical database which also covers agricultural sciences, botany, biotechnology, zoology, and biology in the broadest sense. Covers thousands of journals as well as conference proceedings. Good for supplementing a search that deals with a plant or animal organisms (e.g. bedbugs).
Web of Science: Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers over 8,000 journals in the sciences & social sciences. Also contains conference proceedings. Coverage goes back to 1899.

Scopus
Large interdisciplinary article database. Covers environmental, health, engineering and science topics very well. Indexes over 14,000 journals. Coverage of database 1966 to present.

ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Encompasses 65 databases covering business, sciences, current events, newspapers, and social sciences.

More article databases
Full list of all journal article databases for biochemistry.

Encyclopedia of biological chemistry
Subject areas:
- Lipids, Carbohydrates, Membranes and Membrane Proteins
- Metabolism, Vitamins and Hormones
- Protein/Enzyme Structure, Function and Degradation
- Molecular Biology
- more
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Content on:
- biochemistry
- lipids
- proteins
- metabolism
- nucleic acids
- many other aspects in the life sciences
Wiley Encyclopedia of Molecular Medicine
- applications of molecular biology to medicine
Nucleic acids from A to Z : a concise encyclopedia
- concise information about concepts, compounds, techniques and acronyms

Books@Ovid
Over 1000 fulltext textbooks - classic and groundbreaking titles in a wide range of subject areas - including the world's largest online collection of core clinical texts.

NCBI Bookshelf This link opens in a new window
Thousands of freely available books in the life sciences and healthcare from the National Library of Medicine in the United States.