Church History

Produced by the Institutum Patristicum Augustinianum.
Downers Grove, Illinois: IVP Academic, 2014. 3 volumes.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
The most scholarly English-language dictionary of Christian antiquity with over 3200 signed articles each with an extensive bibliography.

Edited by Everett Ferguson.
New York: Garland, 1997. 2 volumes.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
A slightly more readable dictionary of Christian antiquity than Angelo Di Berardino’s Encyclopedia of the Early Church (above). Specialists in patristics and early Christian history will find it useful for concise, accurate summaries, ready access to facts, and basic bibliographies.

New York: Oxford University Press, 1991. 3 volumes.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
Major survey articles as well as shorter articles on lesser topics covering the Byzantine Empire from the 4th to the 15th centuries.

New York: Charles Scribners' Sons, 1982 – 1989. 13 volumes.
Articles (many of essay length) on all aspects of medieval scholarship. It is now forty years old, so the bibliographies are very out-of-date.
All of the volumes are available online on the Internet Archive, a trusted source, but one for which it is necessary to create a free account and login: volume 1 AAC-AUG, volume 2 AUG-BYZ, volume 3 CAA-CRI, volume 4 CRO-FAM, volume 5 FAM-GRO, volume 6 GRO-ITA, volume 7 ITA-MAB, volume 8 MAC-MYS, volume 9 MYS-POL, volume 10 POL-SCA, volume 11 SCA-TEX, volume 12 THA-ZWA, volume 13 index, supplement 1.

Edited by André Vauchez.
Chicago, Ill. : Fitzroy Dearborn, 2000.

Edited by Hans J. Hillerbrand.
New York: Oxford University Press, 1996. 4 volumes.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
More than 1200 scholarly articles. Many of the bibliographies are annotated and are divided into separate lists of primary and secondary sources.

Edited by Roger E. Hedlund.
New Delhi: Oxford University Press, 2012.
Over 1100 articles.