Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

ANT102H5 Introduction to Sociocultural and Linguistic Anthropology

This guide helps ANT102 students define and find scholarly books, journal articles and information in citing using the Chicago style

What is a Scholarly Journal Article?

A scholarly journal publishes original research articles and commentary on current developments in a specific discipline or field of study (1). Scholarly journal articles are usually written by the persons who carried out the research and include a bibliography or list of works cited at the end. An abstract summarizes the content of the article. A scholalry journal has issues or numbers published every month or at other intervals. Each year typically corresponds to a volume.

Most scholarly journals are peer-reviewed: critically examined by experts in the field before publication (2). You can use the Ulrich's Periodical Directory (see the box below) to learn more about journals you find.

Here is an example scholarly journal article citation from a journal article database called ProQuest (see box on opposite page):

 

You can get all of the information you need to cite this article using Chicago style from this database entry.  Right now, let's focus on the scholarly journal title: Anthropologica, one of the journals recommended by your professor.

1. Joan M. Reitz, "Journal," in Online Dictionary of Library and Information Science, (ABC - Clio, 2013), accessed November 4, 2013, http://www.abc-clio.com/ODLIS/odlis_jk.aspx#journal .

2. Joan M. Reitz, "Peer review" in Online Dictionary of Library and Information Science, (ABC - Clio, 2013), accessed November 4, 2013, http://www.abc-clio.com/ODLIS/odlis_p.aspx#peerreviewed

Ulrich's Periodical Directory

Ulrich's Periodical directory allows you to see whether a journal in which you found and article is scholarly and peer-reviewed.  Search for the title of the journal in Ulrich's

Click on the title to see information about the journal's audience and review style.

Get Scholarly Journal Articles using Databases

You can access scholarly journal articles by doing a search using the Articles tab on the Library Home Page:

 

Articles tab is a good way to start, but searching specialized article databases  is more exahaustive and efficient: You are looking through thousands of journals at the same time!

In your Essay Assignment sheet,  databasese are called JOURNAL INDICES because that's what they do: they index articles from journals.

Use Article Finder to Get Full Text

With the new ALL search and ARTICLE search, it is easy to broaden your searches. 

Other tools, like Article Finder, help you to find a specfific article for which you have the citation.