Research Guides: Eastern Christianity: Dictionaries

Dictionaries

The Blackwell Dictionary of Eastern Christianity.
Edited by Ken Parry et al.
Blackwell, 1999.
For print version locations see the UofT Library Catalogue.
This work covers Catholic and Orthodox, Byzantine and non-Byzantine, Chalcedonian and non-Chalcedonian traditions. There are articles on geographical areas, important persons, theological issues, and liturgical items. Most bibliographical references are to English-language works.
Encyclopedic Dictionary of the Christian East.
Edited by Edward G. Farrugia.
Pontifical Oriental Institute, 2015.
Brief articles with bibliographies on individuals, groups, and topics.
Encyclopedia of Eastern Orthodox Christianity.
Edited by John Anthony McGuckin.
Wiley-Blackwell, 2011. 2 volumes.
For print version locations see the UofT Library Catalogue.
Over 300 articles on people, groups, and topics. Excellent bibliographical references.
The Complete Book of Orthodoxy: A Comprehensive Encyclopedia and Glossary of Orthodox Terms, History, Theology, and Facts .
By George W. Grube.
Regina Orthodox Press, 2001.
Brief definitions of names and terms.
A Dictionary of Greek Orthodoxy.
By Nicon D. Patrinacos.
Hellenic Heritage Publications, 1984.
Articles on Greek Orthodox theology, history, and liturgy.
Dictionary of Orthodox Theology: A Summary of the Beliefs, Practices and History of the Eastern Orthodox Church.
By George H. Demetrakopoulos.
Philosophical Library, 1964.
Brief definitions.
Dictionary of Ethiopian Christianity.
By Paulos Milkias.
University Press of America, 2010.
Brief definitions of names and terms.
Gorgias Encyclopedic Dictionary of the Syriac Heritage.
Gorgias Press, 2011.
For print version locations see the UofT Library Catalogue.
Includes articles on bishops, theologians, and ecclesiastical jurisdictions.