Patristics

Edited by Andrew Louth.
4th edition. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2022.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
Uniquely authoritative and wide-ranging in its scope and an indispensable reference work on all aspects of the Christian Church. It contains over 6,000 A-Z entries, and offers unrivalled coverage of all aspects of this vast and often complex subject, from theology; churches and denominations; patristic scholarship; and the bible; to the church calendar and its organization; popes; archbishops; saints; and mystics.

Produced by the Institutum Patristicum Augustinianum. Downers Grove, Illinois: IVP Academic, 2014. 3 volumes.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
The most scholarly English-language dictionary of Christian antiquity with over 3200 signed articles each with an extensive bibliography.

2nd edition by Everett Ferguson.
New York: Garland, 1997. 2 volumes.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.

Edited by Siegmar Dopp and Wilhelm Geerlings.
New York: Crossroad, 2000.
Articles are mostly about individuals (many not found in other dictionaries), but also include specific works and genres of literature. Thorough bibliographies of editions and secondary works in the major Western European languages.
Available online on the Internet Archive, a trusted source, but one for which it is necessary to create a free account and login.

2nd edition. Washington, DC: Gale, 2003. 15 volumes
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
This work is the major English-language encyclopedia on Catholic topics. It contains some 17,000 articles, each with a bibliography. Unfortunately many of the articles in the 2003/online edition are reprints from the 1967 edition without any updating. Use this work to get an overview of a subject and to see how it can be divided into narrower topics for a paper.

New York: Encyclopedia Press, 1905-1922.
16 volumes + 2 supplements.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
For over fifty years this work was the chief source of information on the Catholic Church in English-speaking countries. Owing to its length (it has almost twice as many words as the New Catholic Encyclopedia) and its emphasis on historical articles, it is still useful.

Paris: Letouzey et Ané, 1912–present.
28 volumes (in progress).
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
The most comprehensive reference work in Church history; mostly brief articles (with bibliographies) on terms, persons, places, events, and movements. Complete to the letter “L”.

Edited by Alexander P. Kazhdan.
New York: Oxford University Press, 1991. 3 volumes.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
Major survey articles as well as shorter articles on lesser topics covering the Byzantine Empire from the 4th to the 15th centuries. bibliographies emphasizing the best editions of texts and major studies.

Wilmington, DE: Glazier, 1988.
Available online on the Internet Archive, a trusted source, but one for which it is necessary to create a free account and login.

Collegeville, MN: Liturgical Press, 1996.

Wilmington, DE: Glazier, 1982.

Wilmington, DE: Glazier, 1987.

Wilmington, DE: Glazier, 1990.

Collegeville, MN: Liturgical Press, 1992.
The subject-specific theological encyclopedias published by Glazier and Liturgical Press each include articles about the thought of particular Fathers (e.g. Saint John Chrysostom on the Trinity).

Edited by Allan D. Fitzgerald.
Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans, 1999.
Five hundred articles covering every area of Augustine studies.

Edited by: Karla Pollmann and Willemien Otten.
Oxford University Press, 2013.
Over 600 articles. Includes articles on many of Augustine's individual works, and articles on later theologians who interacted with Augustine's teachings.