Research Guides: Catholic Liturgy: Dictionaries

One-Volume Dictionaries

These works provide brief definitions and descriptions of liturgical terms, including names of people, liturgical objects, actions, and rites:

The New Westminster Dictionary of Liturgy and Worship
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
By Paul Bradshaw
Louisville, KY: Westminister John Knox Press, 2002.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
Also called the The New SCM Dictionary of Liturgy and Worship.
The New Dictionary of Sacramental Worship.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
By Peter Fink.
Collegeville, MN: Liturgical, 1990.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
The online version is available on the Internet Archive, a trusted source, but one for which it is necessary to create a free account and login.
Dictionary of the Liturgy.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
By Jovian P. Lang
New York: Catholic Book Publishing, 1989.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
The online version is available on the Internet Archive, a trusted source, but one for which it is necessary to create a free account and login.
A Small Liturgical Dictionary.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
By Giacomo Lercaro
London: Burns & Oates, 1959.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
The online version is available on the Internet Archive, a trusted source, but one for which it is necessary to create a free account and login.
Liturgical Literacy: From Anamnesis to Worship.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
By Dennis C. Smolarski
New York: Paulist, 1990.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
The online version is available on the Internet Archive, a trusted source, but one for which it is necessary to create a free account and login.