Research guides: CLA233H5: Introduction to Roman Culture and Society: Background Information

Sample Reference Sources

Oxford Research Encyclopedias - Classics ➤ ➤ Oxford Classical Dictionary
Wiley - Classical Studies
Classical Studies on Oxford Reference
Oxford Reference provides many Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias: for example, Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization
The Cambridge Ancient History
A 19 volume set written by experts, each chapter contains extensive reference lists to help you identify key works and potential primary sources. For example,
— Volume 3, Part 3, The Expansion of the Greek World, Eighth to Sixth Centuries BC (2nd ed.)
— Volume 4, Persia, Greece and the Western Mediterranean, c.525 to 479 BC (2nd ed.)
— Volume 5, The Fifth Century BC (2nd ed.)
— Volume 6, The Fourth Century BC (2nd ed.)
— Volume 7, Part 2, The Rise of Rome to 220 BC (2nd ed.)
— Volume 8, Rome and the Mediterranean to 133 BC (2nd ed.)

Oxford Bibliographies Online ➤ ➤ Classics

Oxford bibliographies help you find scholarly and authoritative primary and secondary sources.

Oxford Bibliographies Online ➤ ➤ Classics
offers authoritative research guides to essential literature in subjects across the humanities and social sciences.
Excellent source for identifying key works on a topic.

Table of Contents:

0:00 -- Oxford Bibliographies Online is a tool, not for citing
1:10 -- Advanced Search
2:04 -- Example search: freed* AND tomb (Death and Burial in the Roman Age)
5:39 -- Example search: Alexander the Great
8:08 -- Tips on identifying primary sources in Oxford Bibliographies
9:06 -- Get help at the UTM Library