Christian Spirituality

Edited by Michael Downey.
Collegeville, MN: Liturgical, 1993.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
Over 300 articles with bibliographies on Catholic spiritual concepts and schools (but not individual writers).
The online version is available on the Internet Archive, a trusted source, but one for which it is necessary to create a free account and login.

Don Thorsen.
Downers Grove, IL: IVP Academic, 2018.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.

Edited by Glen G. Scorgie.
Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan, 2011.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library catalogue.

Edited by Philip Sheldrake.
Louisville, KT: Westminster John Knox, 2005.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
Lengthy articles on themes, movements, regions, and periods in Christian spirituality - but not biographies of individual persons. Also includes a section of short essays on the relationships between spirituality and other disciplines (e.g. culture, history, psychology, science).
The online version is available on the Internet Archive, a trusted source, but one for which it is necessary to create a free account and login.

Edited by Gordon S. Wakefield.
Philadelphia: Westminster Press, 1983.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
This older work is still useful, since its replacement has a thoroughly different editorial stance. It includes articles on spiritual schools, writers, and themes. The Catholic tradition is well represented along with Orthodoxy, Protestantism, and to a lesser extent non-Christian religions.
The online version is available on the Internet Archive, a trusted source, but one for which it is necessary to create a free account and login.

By Susan Muto.
Ann Arbor, MI: Servant Publications, 2000.
Brief articles on concepts, traditions, saints, and periods all chosen and written by a major scholar of formative spirituality. There are no bibliographies, but, as the subtitle indicates, the articles are nonetheless inspirational.

By Columba Cary-Elwes.
London: Sheed & Ward, 1986.
A similar work to that by Susan Muto above. Some articles include bibliographic references.

By Michael Walsh.
San Francisco: HarperSanFrancisco, 1993.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
A dictionary emphasizing the practice of individual piety, with articles on various shrines, devotions, sodalities, and confraternities.
The online version is available on the Internet Archive, a trusted source, but one for which it is necessary to create a free account and login.

Edited by Elizabeth M. Dowling and W. George Scarlett.
Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2006.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
An inter-faith encyclopedia with lengthy articles (including bibliographies) about spiritual concepts, leaders, practices, and traditions.
The online version is available on the Internet Archive, a trusted source, but one for which it is necessary to create a free account and login.

By John Ferguson.
London: Thames & Hudson, 1976.
Includes articles on persons and topics from Christianity as well as non-Christian religions. Articles range from one line to a page.

2nd edition. Washington, DC: Gale, 2003. 15 volumes
The major English-language encyclopedia on Catholic topics, this work contains some 17,000 articles, each with a bibliography. There is an article entitled "Spirituality, Christian (History of)" which identifies major spiritual masters and schools for each of which there is an article in the encyclopedia. Unfortunately many of the articles in the 2003/online edition are reprints from the 1967 edition without any updating.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.

For over fifty years this work was the chief source of information on the Catholic Church in English-speaking countries. Owing to its length (it has almost twice as many words as the New Catholic Encyclopedia) and its emphasis on historical articles, it is still useful.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library catalogue.

Paris: Beauchesne, 1932-1996. 17 volumes.
The most comprehensive reference work in the field with long, signed articles covering concepts of spiritual theology and explaining their origin and development through the centuries with frequent references to sources. In French.
All volumes are available on the Internet Archive, a trusted source, but one for which it is necessary to create a free account and login: Volume 1 A - B, volume 2:1 Ca - Com, volume 2:2 Com - Cy, volume 3 D, volume 4:1 E - Esc, volume 4:2 Esp - Ez, volume 5 F, volume 6 G, volume 7:1 H, volume 7:2 I, volume 8 J - K, volume 9 L, volume 10 M, volume 11 N - O, volume 12:1 Pa - Ph, volume 12:2 Pi - Q, volume 13 R, volume 14 S, volume 15 T, volume 16 U - Z, Tables générales.