Research Guides: Shakespeare: Bibliographies

Bibliographies

William Shakespeare: Oxford Bibliographies - British and Irish Literature.
By Andrew Hadfield and Amy Kenny.
New York: Oxford University Press, 2013-.
William Shakespeare: Oxford Bibliographies - Renaissance and Reformation.
By David Bevington.
New York: Oxford University Press, 2010-.
A Concise Companion to Shakespeare and the Text.
Edited by Andrew Murphy.
Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub., 2007.
Shakespeare: A Bibliographical Guide.
Edited by Stanley Wells.
Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1990.
Arranged by topic (such as Shakespeare in Performance, Hamlet or The Early Comedies), this book consists of 19 bibliographic essays covering all of Shakespeare’s work, each followed by lists of relevant books, essays and journal articles. The lists are organized into different printings of Shakespeare’s works, general studies and—most useful of all—criticism.
Shakespeare and the Atlantic World: Oxford Bibliographies - Atlantic History.
By David McInnis.
New York: Oxford University Press, 2014-.
Shakespeare.
Compiled by David Bevington.
Arlington Heights, Ill.: AHM Publishing, 1978.
The advantage of this bibliography over its rival by Stanley Wells is its breadth: the book is crammed with far more books, essays, and journal articles. Like the Wells guide, the Bevington bibliography is organized by general topic in the first half (such as Shakespeare’s life and the Principles of Tragedy) and into Shakespeare’s works in the second half. What this bibliography lacks are the short introductory essays that accompany the lists of sources in Shakespeare: A Bibliographical Guide.
The Essential Shakespeare: An Annotated Bibliography of Major Modern Studies.
By Larry S. Champion.
Toronto: Maxwell Macmillan Canada, 1993.
In this work, Larry Champion attempts to identify the most important works of Shakespeare scholarship produced in the 20th century. Annotating more than 1,800 studies of the playwright and his works, the book is broken down into such categories as sonnets, history plays and tragedies: each of these subdivides into bibliographic types like reference works, criticism and stage history. The Essential Shakespeare includes author, title, and subject indexes.
Shakespeare and the Classical Tradition: An Annotated Bibliography, 1961-1991.
By Lewis Walker.
New York: Routledge, 2002.
This bibliography has collected 3,210 works in English published between 1961 and 1991 that treat the classical influence in Shakespeare’s work. The citations are organized into: general bibliographies, surveys and reference works; general works; and sections on individual works. Entries consist of books, articles, chapters, essays, dissertations, other bibliographies, and reference works. Many have been annotated in such detail that just scanning them will give you a quick grasp of the scholarship available.
Shakespeare in Print : A History and Chronology of Shakespeare Publishing.
By Andrew Murphy.
Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2021.

Also available in print at UofT.
Selling Shakespeare: Biography, Bibliography, and the Book Trade.
By Adam G. Hooks.
Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2016.
Shakespearian Bibliography and Textual Criticism: A Bibliography.
By Trevor Howard Howard-Hill.
Signal Mountain, TN: Summertown, 2000.

Research Guides

Shakespeare

Bibliographies

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us