Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

ANT318H5 Archaeological Fieldwork: Resources for Research

Resources assisting students in finding resources about Erindale and area history and pre-history.

Specialized Journals Online

Sometimes it is helpful to look through an entire run of a reputable archaeology journal. Here are some journals which may give you ideas of issues or methods worthy of investigation:

Use Article Finder when there is no Full Text

With the new ALL search and ARTICLE search, it is easy to broaden your searches. 

Other tools, like Article Finder, help you to find a specfific article for which you have the citation.

Journal Article Databases

America: History and Life

This database provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes information abstracted from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.

Anthropology Plus

Includes a fair amount of full-text linking. Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute into one searchable resource. It indexes more than 2500 journals and edited works published worldwide. Includes all core periodicals and lesser-known journals, and contains over 850,000 records.

Less likely to have specifics on local history, but helpful with bigger picture ideas in archaeology and archaeological methods.

JSTOR

Covers over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as selected monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable.

International Bibliography of Social Sciences (IBSS)

A major index for social science and interdisciplinary scholarly research. The main focus is on the four core social science subjects of anthropology, economics, politics and sociology in all their aspects.