Skip to Main Content

Research Guides

ENV322: International Environmental Policy

Searching for Articles

To improve your search experience and gain access to advanced features, always begin by clicking the Sign In button pictured below. 

 

Sign In button located in top right corner of LibrarySearch interface

Once you have signed in to LibrarySearch you can: 

  • Update your profile to be sure you will receive important library notifications
  • Check due dates, place holds, review item requests, and pay fines
  • Renew your borrowed items 
  • View your search history
  • Access saved search results and citations
  • Create alerts to keep up to date on new publications

Please note: LibrarySearch times out after 30 minutes of inactivity, automatically signing you out and resetting itself to the default search page.

Remote Full Text Access

Remote access to the University of Toronto Libraries' digital collections is only available to current students, faculty, and University staff. Access to e-books, full text articles, databases, and other digital tools require users to log in via the University of Toronto's web login service. If you forget this before you start your session, you will be directed to log in as soon as required.

 

Find Specific Titles

To search for an exact article, search with quotations around your title phrase. See an article title search demonstration. 

 

The advanced search option for articles allows you to use key words. By narrowing down your search results using the facets on the left hand side, you can find relevant articles. Also, if you know the specific details of the article you are looking for, such as volume, issue and/or title, this is where you can search for it.

Advanced Article Search

It is likely that you will receive an overwhelming amount of results, but by selecting the appropriate search filters, format and subject options, you can narrow down your results.

Choose an appropriate database that pertains to the subject you are researching by selecting "Subjects A-Z". For example, if we select "Ecology" from this list, we see all of the relevant databases that contain relevant articles, such as Ecology Abstracts or Environmental Science & Pollution Management.This will also lead you to other resources such as encyclopedias and dictionaries.

Searching databases alphabetically

Peer-reviewed Journals

Articles in peer-reviewed journals are reviewed by a group of the writer's peers (aka other academics in his/her field) before the articles are published. A scholarly journal is a journal that has been peer reviewed.

For print journals:

  • On the inside of the cover or on the first page or two, the peer review process will be outlined by the publisher, or go to the journal's website and look at the article submission guidelines to determine if the journal has a peer review process.

For an e-journal or any publication you are not sure about:

  • Use Ulrichsweb  to determine if the journal is peer-reviewed or refereed. After you have typed in the name of the journal, if you see this symbol[refereed] you will know the journal has been peer reviewed.

In the example shown below, both the online and print versions of Earth Sciences History are peer-reviewed, while Earth Sciences is not.

Databases