Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Gerstein Science Information Centre

CSB196: Genes, Genomes and Us

This guide will assist CSB196 students when starting to look for and gather research for papers and assignments.

Searching for Articles

To find articles: from the U of T library homepage, you can search using either the advanced search option or through subject specific databases.

The advanced article search allows you to use keywords. By narrowing down your search results using the facets on the left hand side, you can find relevant articles. Also, if you know the specific details of the article you are looking for, such as volume, issue and/or title, this is where you can search for it.

Advanced search with facets

It is likely that you will receive an overwhelming amount of results, but by selecting the appropriate search filters, format and subject options, you can narrow down your results.

To find the most useful databases for your subject, click on "Databases" from the UTL library homepage, then select "Article databases by subjects A-Z", and then choose a subject from the list. For example, if we select "Biology" from this list, we see key biology and multidisciplinary databases such as BIOSIS, Scopus, and Web of Science. This can also lead you to other resources such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, and the Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Resource Guide.

Scholarly Article Resources

How to find an article from a citation

Finding an Article from a Citation

You can enter citation information into the Article Finder to check if we have online access to the full-text of a specific article. You can also use the Article Finder to create a permanent link to an article.

In order to get your hands on the full text of articles, you need to start with a complete citation of the article.  This consists of: 

  • Name(s) of the author(s)
  • Title of the article
  • Title of the journal
  • Volume and issue number
  • Date
  • Pages

Ellstrand, Norman C. and Mikeal L. Roose (1987), Patterns of Genotypic Diversity in Clonal Plant Species. American Journal of Botany, 74 (1): 123–131.

 

Note: if you don't get any results, try entering just the journal title or abbreviation. 

Don't despair if you don't find it on Article Finder! Try also looking for the journal on e-journals or even search Google or Google Scholar as a final try.  You may be surprised by how much is available for free. If you do find a journal that is freely available but not on our journals list you can contact your librarian and request that the journal is added to our collections, or borrow the article from another University Library collection by using RACER.

Finding Articles with Web of Science