BIO153H5: Diversity of Organisms

Animal Diversity Web (ADW) is an online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan.

Fully illustrated interactive, matrix-based keys to enable rapid identification of over 100 of the most serious invasive plants in East Africa (Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda); 26 invertebrate pest groups that cause serious damage to maize (the major staple crop of the region); and 20 bee genera - the most important group pollinator group for wild and cultivated plants in the region.

The gateway to our online database of the world's known species of animals, plants, fungi and micro-organisms.

The Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF) is an international open data infrastructure, funded by governments. It allows access to data about all types of life on Earth.

Authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world.

Essential source for information on taxonomic, conservation status and distribution information on endangered taxa.

This database contains information on more than 70,000 plants, animals, and ecosystems of the United States and Canada.

This system has nearly 1.3 million scientific names and over 4.4 million specimen records.

VertNet is a tool designed to help people discover, capture, and publish biodiversity data.

A free species directory.

The aim of WoRMS is to provide an authoritative and comprehensive list of names of marine organisms, including information on synonymy.

AlgaeBase is a database of information on algae that includes terrestrial, marine and freshwater organisms.

The PLANKTON*NET data provider at the Alfred Wegener Institute for Polar and Marine Research is an open access repository for plankton-related information. It covers all types of phytoplankton and zooplankton from marine and freshwater areas.

This list includes, alphabetically and chronologically, the nomenclature of prokaryotes and the nomenclatural changes as cited in the Approved Lists of Bacterial Names or validly published in the International Journal of Systematic Bacteriology (IJSB) or in the International Journal of Systematic and Evolutionary Microbiology (IJSEM).

The digital collections of the Virtual Herbarium, comprising approximately 1,300,000 herbarium specimens and 225,000 high-resolution specimen images, are updated daily as the Garden pursues the goal of digitizing all of its 7,300,000 plant and fungi specimens.

Of the over 5 million specimens in the Harvard University Herbaria, 694,276 have records in the Specify 6 database system of which about 100,000 correspond to type specimens of vascular plants and mosses. Also included are fungi, lichens, bryophytes, and algae.

Of the over 5 million specimens in the Harvard University Herbaria, about 100,000 correspond to type specimens of vascular plants and mosses. Also included are fungi, lichens, bryophytes, and algae.

IPNI is a database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of seed plants, ferns and lycophytes.

The data presented here are taken from the publication Vascular Plant Families and Genera compiled by R. K. Brummitt and published by the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew in 1992.

Identification, Images, & Information for insects, spiders & their kin for the United States & Canada

The Butterflies and Moths of North America (BAMONA) project is an attempt to collect and provide access to quality-controlled data about butterflies and moths for the continent of North America from Panama to Canada.

This resource includes more than 2,000 common names and is searchable by common name, scientific name, author, order, family, genus, and species.

Nomina Insecta Nearctica is a complete synonymical checklist of the approximately 90,000 species of insects of North America north of Mexico published by Entomological Information Services in 1996 and 1997.

ScaleNet is a tool for finding information about scale insects: their taxonomic diversity, nomenclatural history, biogeography, ecological associations, and economic importance.

Radiolaria.org is an online database containing information about radiolarians - fossil and recent, with images, descriptions, references, synonyms and links to other online resources.

FishBase is a database with information on practically all fish species known to science.

AmphibiaWeb is an online system that provides access to information on amphibian declines, conservation, natural history, and taxonomy.

Birds of the World is a powerful resource that brings deep, scholarly content from four celebrated works of ornithology into a single platform where biologists and birders can find comprehensive life history information on birds. Every bird has a story. Discover them all with Birds of the World.

This journal, published by the American Society of Mammalogists, contains species accounts that summarize the current understanding of the biology of an individual species including systematics, distribution, fossil history, genetics, anatomy, physiology, behavior, ecology, and conservation.

Mammal Species of the World, 3rd edition (MSW3) is a database of mammalian taxonomy.