Skip to main content

Bioethics

Article databases licensed at UTLibraries

Major databases for bioethics articles

Ovid MEDLINE   

  • all aspects of medicine
  • note subset for bioethics: search topic, then select Additional limits/Journal subsets/Bioethics journals

PubMed   

  • all aspects of medicine
  • option for bioethics resources: at home page, select Topic-Specific Queries/Subjects/Bioethics for an extensive listing of resources
  • note also the status information (PubMed--in process; PubMed--as supplied by publisher; Epub aheadof print) indicating the latest records which must be searched for by using textwords
  • with links to UTL licensed journals

Embase   

  • all aspects of medicne
  • renowned for its extensive drug information
  • additional strength: focus on alternative treatment therapies, rehabilitation medicine and non-North American literature

Cinahl   

  • for nursing and allied health disciplines
  • has a subheading for "ethical issues"; watch for this option on the subject heading display page

Philosopher's Index   

  • indexes journals, book chapters, book reviews, essays
  • international in scope research in all areas of philosophy

Scopus   

  • for social sciences, life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences, and arts and humanities.
  • draws from research literature published in academic journals, open access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series
  • coverage from about 1997 to present

Web of Science   

  • multidiscipllinary
  • includes options to find current citations to older articles
  • coverage for the sciences back to 1899; for the social sciences to 1956; to arts & humanities to 1975; to conference papers to 1999

Other databases for bioethics articles

Alternative Press Index

  • covers emerging theories and practices of radical social change
  •  journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international and interdisciplinary alternative, radical, and left periodicals

America; History and Life 

  • indexes  American history, Canadian history, popular culture, American studies, women's studies/gender studies, multicultural studies, politics and other fields of study
  • includes articles from over 2,000 journals, book reviews, dissertations

ATLA religion database with ATLA Serials  

  • covers all religions, major denominations
  • includes feature for searching for information on scripture passages
  • produced by the American Theological Library Association

Canadian Periodical Index CPI.Q   

  • coverage of over 400 Canadian periodicals plus some American titles; includes 80 business periodicals.
  • includes the full text of selected sections of The Globe and Mail from 1997+

Dissertations & Theses: Full Text  

  • PhD dissertations and MA theses in all subjects from universities worldwide
  • contains the full text of University of Toronto PhD dissertations from 1962 onwards and Masters theses from 1989 onwards

EconLit    

  • covers both economic theory and its applications
  • EconLit is published by the American Economic Association.
  • Indexes over 750 journals, as well as collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers in economics, and book reviews

FRANCIS   

  • strong in religion, philosophy, psychology, sociology and literature
  • abstracts are in English or French;descriptors  in both languages
  • published by Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique du Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (INIST-CNRS), a unit of the French National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS)
  • indexes over 4,200 journals, books, book chapters, conference papers, French dissertations, exhibition catalogs, legislation, teaching materials, and reports; the database contains over 1 million records

Humanities Abstracts   

  • indexes most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized journals
  • delivers feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies,  and more.

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals

  • articles as well as book reviews from more than 450 legal periodicals, including journals, essay collections, festschrifts, and congress reports from 1985 to the present
  • covers international law (public and private), comparative law, and municipal law of countries other than the United States, British Isles, and British Commonwealth

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)   

  • major index for social science and interdisciplinary scholarly research
  • includes carefully selected complementary material in development studies, human geography and environment, and gender and sexuality
  • produced by the Library at the London School of Economics and Political Science

International Political Science Abstracts   

  • provides access to articles in the field of political science (including the sub-fields of public administration, political theory and international relations) from scholarly journals and yearbooks all over the world
  • indexes over 900 international scholarly journals and yearbooks
  • produced by the International Political Science Association

PAIS International   

  • offers access to international literature in public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations
  • an important index forcoverage of government documents, publications of international agencies, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, microfiche, and internet material, as well as journal articles, books and articles in books from more than 120 countries worldwide
  • published by the Public Affairs Information Service

Policy File   

  • gives access to American foreign and domestic policy papers and gray literature
  • covers documents produced by almost 400 nongovernmental agencies in the United States

Search all UTLibrary resources

Uncertain where to start?

UTL's Onesearch, powered by the Summon seach engine, scans all resources available at the University of Toronto. It is ideal for topics where it is uncertain where to begin.  Try it out in the box below this one.

Onesearch:

  • searches about 1000 databases, all disciplines
  • searches publisher information such as catalogues

Summon Search

Searchable FULL TEXT journal collections

JSTOR

  • covers over 1000  academic journals in humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as selected monographs
  • entire corpus is full-text searchable
  • journal title selection is based on recommendations from experts in the field; the length of time that the journal has been published; the number of institutional subscribers to journals; and citation analysis
  • recently published issues of journals (past 3-5 years) are NOT available in JSTOR. JSTOR indicates on their site dates of coverage along with links to "External Content" which is not included as part of our JSTOR subscription.

Project MUSE 

  • multidisciplinary database which indexes scholarly journals from over 36 universities and scholarly publishers
  • full text, keyword-searchable access
  • covers more than 220 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, and mathematics.
  • a pioneering initiative launched by Hopkins Press
  • among participants: Brookings Insititution Press, Duke University Press, Indiana University Press, University of North Carolina Press, Penn State University Press, University of Texas Press, University of Toronto Press