Key Journal Articles
Special thanks to Dr. Daniel Haas for his contribution to this section!
Journal Articles
Ashley PF, Williams CE, Moles DR, Parry J. Sedation versus general anaesthesia for provision of dental treatment in under 18 year olds. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. 2015.
Becker DE, Haas DA. Management of complications during moderate and deep sedation: Respiratory and cardiovascular considerations. Anesthesia progress. 2007 Summer;54(2):59,68; quiz 69.
Chanpong B, Haas DA, Locker D. Need and demand for sedation or general anesthesia in dentistry: A national survey of the canadian population. Anesthesia progress. 2005;52(1):3-11.
Dionne RA, Yagiela JA, Cote CJ, Donaldson M, Edwards M, Greenblatt DJ, Haas D, Malviya S, Milgrom P, Moore PA, Shampaine G, Silverman M, Williams RL, Wilson S. Balancing efficacy and safety in the use of oral sedation in dental outpatients. Journal of the American Dental Association. 2006 Apr;137(4):502-13.
Haas DA. An update on local anesthetics in dentistry. Journal of the Canadian Dental Association. 2002 Oct; 68(9): 546-51.
Haas DA. Emergency drugs. Dental Clinics of North America. 2002 Oct; 46(4): 815-30.
Haas, DA. Oral and inhalation conscious sedation. Dental Clinics of North America. 1999 Apr; 43(2): 341-59.
Matharu LM, Ashley PF. Sedation of children undergoing dental treatment. Cochrane database of systematic reviews 2018;(1).
Yarascavitch C. Hugs with drugs. Empathy and sedation. Ontario Dentist. 2009; 86(7):19-21.
Wong EW. Taking blood pressure in the dental office. Ontario Dentist. 2006; 83(4):28-31.
Books
Little and Falace's Dental Management of the Medically Compromised Patient by
Little and Falace's Dental Management of the Medically Compromised Patient, 10th Edition, is thoroughly revised to provide the information needed to assess common problems and make safe dental management decisions. This new edition contains revised content on Cancer and Women's Health and includes an enhanced ebook plus patient-based practice questions with print purchase. Also, each chapter features informative illustrations and well-organized tables to provide you with in-depth details and overall summaries required for understanding and applying medical concepts in dentistry. NEW! Thoroughly revised content provides the most current, evidence-based information you need to make dental management decisions. UPDATED! Information correlating to the revised INBDE exam prepares you for the boards. NEW! An ebook version is included with print purchase. The ebook allows you to access all the text, figures, and references, with the ability to search, customize content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. Plus, patient-based questions are included. UPDATED! Revised coverage of Women's Health addresses issues specific to women that can impact dental management. NEW! Completely revised chapter on Cancer discusses essential considerations for the oral care of these patients. NEW! Key Points at the beginning of each chapter highlight important content to guide study efforts.
Call Number: RK55 .S53 K47 2024YISBN: 9780323809450Publication Date: 2023-05-01
Handbook of Local Anesthesia by
Learn to prevent, recognize, and manage complications of local anesthesia administration. Written by Dr. Stanley Malamed, the leading expert on anesthesia in dentistry, the Handbook of Local Anesthesia, 7th Edition covers all the latest advances in science, instrumentation, and pain control techniques.
Call Number: RK510 .M33 2020Y (Course ReservesISBN: 9780323582070Publication Date: 2019-06-13
Handbook of Nitrous Oxide and Oxygen Sedation by
The only product of its kind focused specifically on nitrous oxide and oxygen sedation (N2O/O2), Handbook of Nitrous Oxide and Oxygen Sedation, 5th Edition, is ideal in educational and clinical settings. This portable text features a user-friendly outline format that is easy to digest, along with summary tables and boxes, clear illustrations, step-by-step techniques with photos, and review questions and critical thinking exercises - right when and where you need it.
Call Number: RK512 .N55 C58 2020YISBN: 9780323567428Publication Date: 2019-06-13
Medical Emergencies in the Dental Office by
Be prepared to prevent, recognize, and manage life-threatening medical emergencies! Medical Emergencies in the Dental Office, 8th Edition helps you learn the skills needed to manage health issues in the dental office or clinic. The text describes how to recognize and manage medical emergencies promptly and proactively and details the resources that must be on hand to effectively deal with these situations. Written by noted dentistry educator Dr. Stanley Malamed, this expert text includes the latest guidelines for drug-related emergencies, cardiac arrest, and more. An enhanced eBook is included with each new print purchase, featuring a complete, fully searchable version of the text, a test bank of 300 questions and answers, and much more - available on a variety of devices. Logical format reflects the way emergencies are encountered in a dental practice, with chapters organized by commonly seen clinical signs and symptoms, such as unconsciousness or altered consciousness, respiratory distress, seizures, allergic reactions, chest pain, and cardiac arrest. Step-by-step procedures include detailed, sequential instructions for stabilizing and treating patients (PCABD) in common medical emergencies. Full-color illustrations demonstrate emergency techniques with realistic clarity. Summary tables and boxes make it easy to find essential concepts and information. Quick-reference algorithms in the appendix include step-by-step diagrams showing the decision-making process in common emergency situations. A differential diagnosis chapter ends each of the book's parts on common emergencies. An enhanced eBook version is included with each new print purchase, featuring a fully searchable version of the text, an image collection, a test bank of 300 questions and answers, and more! UPDATED content includes the most current guidelines for drug-related emergencies, unconsciousness, altered consciousness, and cardiac arrest as well as protocols for obstructed airway management. UPDATED PCABD boxes reflect the American Heart Association's algorithm for stabilizing and treating victims with an easy-to-remember acronym (PCABD): Positioning, Circulation, Airway, Breathing, and Definitive Management. UPDATED! Emergency drug and equipment kit instructions help you assemble emergency kits and ensure that your dental office has safe, current materials on hand.
Call Number: RC86.8 .M34 2023Y Course ReservesISBN: 9780323776158Publication Date: 2022-05-05
Pharmacology and Therapeutics for Dentistry by
Gain a complete understanding of drugs affecting patient care! Pharmacology and Therapeutics for Dentistry, 7th Edition describes how to evaluate a patient's health and optimize dental treatment by factoring in the drugs they take. It explores the basic principles of pharmacology, the ways that drugs affect the body, and the potential for adverse drug interactions.
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780323393072Publication Date: 2016-09-27
Sedation by
Learn how to safely sedate your dental patients and help control their anxiety with Sedation: A Guide to Patient Management, 6th Edition. Written by sedation expert Stanley Malamed, DDS, this concise guide combines essential theory with "how-to" technical instruction to help you master basic techniques in dental sedation and anxiety control.
Call Number: RK512 .S44 M35 2018X (Course Reserves)ISBN: 9780323400534Publication Date: 2017-06-30
