Research guides: VIC109 : Innovators and Their Ideas: Find Articles

What is a Scholarly Article?

You can use Ulrich's Periodical Directory Online to verify whether a journal is peer-reviewed/refereed (a type of scholarly publication)

Finding and Comparing Scholarly, Popular, and Trade Journal Articles
created by San Diego State University Library and Information Access. c2010.

Evaluate this article:

"Writing the Biography of the Prophet Muhammad: Problems and Solutions."

Use the Library's Research Guides to identify relevant article-databases for your topic

Search ATLA Religion Database for peer-reviewed items on Zoroastriansim and Avesta

Search Index Islamicus for peer-reviewed items on Muhammad and biography

Search Tips:

Sample Topic: Zoroaster and avesta

use synonyms and variant endings of keywords
--zoroaster or zoroastrian or zoroastrianism
--sacred text or scripture

use DEscriptors
--Prophet Muhammad
--Early History of Islam Period of the Prophet & First Four Caliphs
--Founders of Religion

UTOR ID required to log-in.

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new window
The major international index for religion, ATLA covers all scholarly fields of religion. Journals, selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope, represent all the major religious faiths, major denominations, and include numerous language groups. A unique search option is the ability to search for information on Scripture passages. ATLA Religion Database is produced by the American Theological Library Association (--Robarts Reference, UTL)
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
A major index to Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world, past and present, providing access to worldwide literature in European languages. Records included in the database cover almost a hundred years of publications on the world of Islam. Index Islamicus is produced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit at Cambridge University Library.