Research guides: RLG348H5: Zoroastrian Customs and Ceremonies: STEP 2: Identify the Name of a Specific Ritual

Reference Sources

Ths third assignment requires to compare either the Zoroastrian initiation ritual (naojote / navjote)) with another initiation ritual in a religion of your choice or compare the Zoroastrian funerary practices with those of a religion of your choice.

This section is particularly helpful if you do not know the term of the ritual of a religion of your choice.

Pay also attention to different spellings for a specific ritual and check the bibliographies of the entry that is relevant to your choice of ritual.

Celebrating Life Customs Around the World [3 Volumes] by Victoria R. Williams
Publication Date: 2016
This book documents hundreds of customs and traditions practiced in countries outside of the United States, showcasing the diversity of birth, coming-of-age, and death celebrations worldwide.
This three-volume encyclopedia covers more than 300 birth, life, and death customs, with the books' content organized chronologically by life stage.
— Volume 1 focuses on birth and childhood customs,
— Volume 2 documents adolescent and early-adulthood customs, and
— Volume 3 looks at aging and death customs.

➤➤➤ Volume 1 Geographical List of Entries (Coverage)
— Selected Bibliography for Volume 1
➤➤➤ Volume 2 Geographical List of Entries (Coverage)
— Selected Bibliography for Volume 2
➤➤➤ Volume 3 Geographical List of Entries (Coverage)
— Selected Bibliography for Volume 3
Religious Rites, Rituals, and Festivals by Frank A. Salamone (Editor)
Call Number: BL31 .E47 2004
Publication Date: 2004
This Encyclopedia covers major religions, including Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, Catholicism and Judaism rites and festivals in cultural regions such as China, sub-Saharan Africa, and the Pacific islands life-cycle rites, including those associated with birth, coming of age, marriage and death specific rites and festivals, such as Divali, Easter, Ramadan, snake handling and Yom Kippur.