CLAA05 ANCIENT MYTHOLOGY I: MESOPOTAMIA AND EGYPT

Reference Resources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, companions, and even Wikipedia. You are NOT permitted to use Reference Resources as sources for this assignment, but you CAN use them to learn about your topic and lead you to further reading about your topic.

 Here is a list of the ways Reference Resources can be useful to you:

• They provide introductory information about topics/people/event/places/objects
• They can help you think of keywords to use as search terms to find books and articles
• They often have bibliographies or lists of further reading that you can find to use as sources for the assignment

The following reference resources are available through the UofT library system. Some are online, some are at UTSC Library, and some are at other UofT libraries (you can still borrow them by requesting them through Inter-Campus Delivery).

General Reference Resource

Oxford Reference Library

Classics Reference Resources

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt

Historical Dictionary of Ancient Egypt

Biographical Dictionary of Ancient Egypt

Cultural Atlas of Mesopotamia and the Ancient Near East

Historical dictionary of Mesopotamia

Gods, demons and symbols of ancient Mesopotamia : an illustrated dictionary

Gods, goddesses, and mythology

Online Egyptological Bibliography (OEB)

The following books can also provide introduction and context to help start your research:

The Ancient Near East 3000-330 BC - Amelie Kuhrt

A History of the Ancient Near East ca. 3000-323 B.C. - Marc Van De Mieroop (multiple editions available)

A History of Ancient Egypt - Marc Van De Mieroop

First Civilizations: Ancient Mesopotamia and Ancient Egypt - Robert Chadwick

The Oxford History of Ancient Egypt - Ian Shaw