Research Guides: Language Studies @ UTSC: Languages &amp; Linguistics

Databases

Linguistics-focused databases are a great way of finding relevant articles. Find more linguistics databases and interdisciplinary databases!

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Citation information including abstracts for international research in linguistics and related disciplines.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
International research on modern language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Includes scholarly journals, books, working papers, and conference papers.
Bibliography of Linguistic Literature - Bibliographie Linguistischer Literatur This link opens in a new window
Citations to scholarly journals on linguistics and its related areas.
APA PsycInfo (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Contains citation information and abstracts from journals in psychology and mental health. The Ovid platform is appropriate for systematic and scoping reviews as well as other advanced searches.

Books

The University of Toronto has an extensive collection of language studies and linguistics books, reports, videos and other resources in its libraries' collections.

Search for your topic in the LibrarySearch, or try one of the following subject headings to get you started:

languages
linguistics
linguistic theory
comparative grammar
communication
oral communication
interpersonal communication
non-verbal communication
speech
semiotics

computational linguistics
natural language processing
signs and symbols
language acquisition
translating and interpreting
discourse analysis
etymology
semantics
lexicology
linguistic geography

phonology
morphology
syntax
pragmatics

Learn more about the LibrarySearch platform.

Atlases, Dictionaries, and Encyclopedias

World Atlas of Language Structures Online Database of structural properties of languages displayed in atlas formCreate maps by searching through 'features' & 'chapters' to select language properties to compare
UNESCO Atlas of Endangered Languages Interactive atlas with statistics & endangered language profiles
Lingusitics Dictionaries
Syntax Dictionaries
Semantics Dictionaries
Phonetics Dictionaries

Language Portal of Canada and TERMIUM Plus This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of Language & Linguistics This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of Language and Education This link opens in a new window
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics This link opens in a new window

Ethnologue: Languages of the World Web-based reference work covering 6,912 known living languagesAlso available in print

Language Studies @ UTSC

Databases

Books

Atlases, Dictionaries, and Encyclopedias

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us