Research Guides: Computer Science: Books & e-Books

Find Books

Search for Books
Example: Finding Books on Computer Programming

Searching the catalogue is one way to find books, handbooks, dictionaries and encyclopedias. You can access LibrarySearch from the Engineering & Computer Science Library's homepage.

KEYWORD SEARCHING

Select anywhere from the drop down menu
Type keywords that describe your topic

EXAMPLES:

java debugging

pearce windows

relational OR oracle (using the Boolean Search in the Advanced Search screen)

TIP: Use or for synonyms. It You will find records containing either term in any field. This can ONLY be done using the Boolean Search in the Advanced Search Screen.

relational AND Codd (using the Boolean Search in the Advanced Search screen)

TIP: Use and to narrow search by more than one search term. You will find records containing both term

SUBJECT SEARCHING

There are several ways to search by subject.

1. Start off with a subject search under the general subject area:

select subject from the drop-down menu in the "Catalogue" search box
type a general subject, e.g., neural networks
choose a subheading from the list:

neural networks computer science
neural networks computer science canada congresses
neural networks computer science case studies
neural networks computer science congresses
neural networks computer science design and construction
neural networks computer science european union countries
neural networks computer science handbooks manuals etc
neural networks computer science industrial applications
neural networks computer science industrial applications congresses

2. You can narrow the results of a keyword search by subject:

Do a keyword search (see above).
Narrow the results by picking from a list of subjects listed under the "Refine Results" panel on the left hand side of the page.

3. If you find a book you like in your search, you can search for more books on a similar subject:

For example, to look for books on software testing, you can seach those two terms as keywords in any field. Then, from your search results,

Choose one good book (e.g., The art of software testing by Glenford Myers) and click on the title of the book to get more detailed information
Click on the 'Subjects' tab and view the subjects listed. You can click on them to find more books on your topic.
You can also make a note of them for future searches. This can be a good way to overcome terminology problems by using synonyms to expand your search. In this example, the subject heading 'Debugging in computer science' provides useful synonyms to 'testing' or 'troubleshooting'.

OTHER TIPS:

Once you have conducted a search, you may refine your search results by using the "Refine Results" panel on the left hand side of the screen. You may refine your search results by author, subject geographical area, date, format (i.e. books or journals), language, year of publication, and genre (i.e. handbooks, electronic books, etc.).

Books in most U of T Libraries, including Engineering & Computer Science Library, are arranged on the shelves using the Library of Congress Classification System. This system arranges books on the same topic together on the bookshelves.

For example, the book C++ Coach : essentials for introductory programming by Jeff Salvage, has a call number

QA76.73 . C153 S25 2001

In this example:

QA76.73 .C153 S25 2001 corresponds to all programming languages,
QA76.73 .C153 S25 2001 corresponds to C++ programming language specifically, and
QA 76.73 .C153 S25 2001 corresponds to the book by author Salvage on C++ programming.

You can therefore find all other books on C++ programming by walking to the QA76.73 .C153 area.

Here are some sample computer sciences topics and their corresponding call numbers:

QA76.15 Dictionaries and encyclopedias
QA76.58 Parallel processing. Parallel computers
QA76.59 Mobile computing
- QA76.5915 Ubiquitous computing
- QA76.592 Wearable computers
QA76.6 Programming , e.g.,
- QA76.612 Constraint programming
- QA76.62 Functional programming
- QA76.63 Logic programming
- QA76.64 Object-oriented programming
  - QA76.642 Parallel programming
  - QA76.65 Visual programming
QA76.73.A-Z Programming languages , e.g.,
QA76.73 .C153 C++ programming language
QA76.73 .J38 Java programming language
QA76.76.A-Z Special topics, A-Z , e.g.,
- QA76.76.C65 Compilers
- QA76.76.S73 Standards for software
QA76.8.A-Z Special computers, computer systems, and microprocessors. By name, A-Z e.g.
- QA76.8.I12 IBM 360
- QA76.87 Neural computers. Neural networks
- QA76.88 Supercomputers. High performance computing
QA76.9.A-Z Other topics, A-Z , e.g.,
- QA76.9.A25 Access control. Computer security
- QA76.9.A3 Adaptive computing
- QA76.9.A73 Architecture, Computer
- QA76.9.A955 Automatic hypothesis formation
- QA76.9.A97 Autonomic computing
- QA76.9.C55 Client/server computing
- QA76.9.D26 Database design
- QA76.9.D3 Database management

Interlibrary Loans

If you need a book or article not available in print or online through the University of Toronto, feel free to use our Interlibrary Loan services to request the item from another library.

How to look for books on our shelves

The Engineering and Computer Science Library uses the Library of Congress system for shelving and cataloguing which may be unfamiliar with some patrons. We have provided an example below so that you can navigate our shelves with greater ease.

Stacks

151

.S8

2004

Books in our library may be categorized as Stacks (can be checked out) or Reference (for library use only)

The Classification sorts books by similar subjects, read this line in alphabetical order: A, B... T, TA...

This line is also related to the Classification of the book, read this line as a whole number: 1, 2... 150, 151...

The Cutter sorts books by Author name, read this line alphabetically then as a decimal: .A1, B2... .S78, .S8...

The Date refers normally to the publication date and is arranged chronologically: 2001, 2002... 2004...

Handbooks, encyclopedias and dictionaries

Computer and Information Security Handbook by John R. Vacca (Editor)
ISBN: 1282168703
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Presents information on how to analyze risks to your networks and the steps needed to select and deploy the appropriate countermeasures to reduce your exposure to physical and network threats. Also imparts the skills and knowledge needed to identify and counter some fundamental security risks and requirements, including Internet security threats and measures (audit trails IP sniffing/spoofing etc.) and how to implement security policies and procedures. In addition, this book covers security and network design with respect to particular vulnerabilities and threats. It also covers risk assessment and mitigation and auditing and testing of security systems as well as application standards and technologies required to build secure VPNs, configure client software and server operating systems, IPsec-enabled routers, firewalls and SSL clients. This comprehensive book will provide essential knowledge and skills needed to select, design and deploy a public key infrastructure (PKI) to secure existing and future applications. * Chapters contributed by leaders in the field cover theory and practice of computer security technology, allowing the reader to develop a new level of technical expertise * Comprehensive and up-to-date coverage of security issues facilitates learning and allows the reader to remain current and fully informed from multiple viewpoints * Presents methods of analysis and problem-solving techniques, enhancing the reader's grasp of the material and ability to implement practical solutions
Computer Science Handbook by Allen B. Tucker (Editor)
ISBN: 0429209398
Publication Date: 2004-06-28
When you think about how far and fast computer science has progressed in recent years, it's not hard to conclude that a seven-year old handbook may fall a little short of the kind of reference today's computer scientists, software engineers, and IT professionals need. With a broadened scope, more emphasis on applied computing, and more than 70 chap
Handbook of Pattern Recognition and Computer Vision by C. H. Chen
Call Number: TK7882 .P3 H35 2010X
ISBN: 9814273384
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
Both pattern recognition and computer vision have experienced rapid progress in the last twenty-five years. This book provides the latest advances on pattern recognition and computer vision along with their many applications. It features articles written by renowned leaders in the field while topics are presented in readable form to a wide range of readers. The book is divided into five parts: basic methods in pattern recognition, basic methods in computer vision and image processing, recognition applications, life science and human identification, and systems and technology.
Handbook of Logic in Computer Science (online) by S. Abramsky (Editor); D. M. Gabbay (Editor); T. S. Maibaum (Editor)
Publication Date: 2000
Set of 5 volumes:
v. 1. Background : mathematical structures -- v. 2. Background, computational structures -- v. 3. Semantic structures -- v. 4. Semantic modelling -- v. 5. Logic and algebraic methods -- v. 6. Logical methods in computer science.

Encyclopedia of Computer Science by editors Anthony Ralston, Edwin Reilly, David Hemmendinger
Call Number: QA76.15 .E48 2000
Publication Date: 2000
Wiley Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Engineering, 5 Volume Set (ebook) by Benjamin W. Wah (Editor)
ISBN: 0471383937
Publication Date: 2009-01-20
Wiley Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Engineering, 5-volume set, includes over 450 A to Z articles addressing the latest advances and findings in computer science and engineering, in addition to important topics of interest to computer scientists and engineers, including standards, electronic commerce, financial engineering, and computer education. Each article is written by an expert in his or her particular specialty and is peer-reviewed by two other experts to ensure that it is clear and precise. References and website of related interest accompany every article.
Encyclopedia of Computers and Computer History by Raúl Rojas (Editor)
Call Number: QA76.15 .E517 2001
ISBN: 1579582354
Publication Date: 2001-04-01
First Published in 2001. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Encyclopedia of Human Computer Interaction (ebook & print) by Claude Ghaoui
Call Number: QA76.9 .H85 E53 2006
ISBN: 1591405629
Publication Date: 2006-03-30
The ""Encyclopedia of Human Computer Interaction"" is the most thorough and definitive source providing coverage of everything related to the field of human computer interaction (HCI). This encyclopedia covers a wide range of HCI related topics such as concepts, design, usability, evaluation, innovations, and applications of HCI in organizations around the globe. Hundreds of contributors and advisors from around the world have conferred their expertise to this publication, making this encyclopedia a single source of authoritative and contemporary research in field of human computer interaction. The ""Encyclopedia of Human Computer Interaction"" also includes coverage of real life experiences and cases of HCI and the lessons learned helping readers to learn extensively about this important field of study.
Encyclopedia of Algorithms (ebook) by Ming-Yang Kao (editor)
ISBN: 3642278485
Publication Date: 2020
Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology (ebook) by Phillip A. Laplante (Editor)
ISBN: 1351652494
Publication Date: 2017-10-02
With breadth and depth of coverage, the Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology, Second Edition has a multi-disciplinary scope, drawing together comprehensive coverage of the inter-related aspects of computer science and technology. The topics covered in this encyclopedia include: General and reference Hardware Computer systems organization Networks Software and its engineering Theory of computation Mathematics of computing Information systems Security and privacy Human-centered computing Computing methodologies Applied computing Professional issues Leading figures in the history of computer science The encyclopedia is structured according to the ACM Computing Classification System (CCS), first published in 1988 but subsequently revised in 2012. This classification system is the most comprehensive and is considered the de facto ontological framework for the computing field. The encyclopedia brings together the information and historical context that students, practicing professionals, researchers, and academicians need to have a strong and solid foundation in all aspects of computer science and technology.

The Facts on File Dictionary of Computer Science (print) by John Daintith; Edmund Wright
Call Number: QA76.15 .F345 2006X
ISBN: 0816059993
Publication Date: 2007-07-30
Computers are more prevalent in our daily lives than ever before, yet many people are unfamiliar with the concepts and technology of computer science. ""The Facts On File Dictionary of Computer Science, Revised Edition"" provides more than 2,400 updated and revised, cross-referenced entries that explain such fundamental concepts as hardware, software, and applications. It also defines terms associated with the latest technology and advancements, such as artificial intelligence and palmtop computers. With more than 200 new entries, this dictionary is a valuable resource for new computer users, students, teachers, and computer professionals. Topics covered include: Adware; BlackBerry; Disk array; Google; List box; Plain text; Spyware; and, Webcam.
A Dictionary of Computing (ebook & print) by John Daintith (Editor); Edmund Wright (Editor)
Call Number: QA76.15 .D526 2008
ISBN: 0199234019
Publication Date: 2008-08-04
This best-selling dictionary has been fully revised by a team of computer specialists, making it the most up-to-date and authoritative guide to computing available. With expanded coverage of networking and databases, feature spreads on key topics, e.g. XML, and the addition of biographical entries, it is a comprehensive reference work encompassing all aspects of the subject. Containing over 6,500 entries -many new to this edition- it is as valuable for home and office users as it is indispensible for students of computing.Recommended web links for many entries, accessible via the Dictionary of Computing companion website, provide valuable further information. It also contains coverage of computer terms in industry, school, work, education, and the home, including the Internet, multimedia, networks and databases, and security. Terms are defined in a jargon-free and concise manner with helpful examples where relevant. This dictionary is suitable for anyone who uses computers, and is ideal for students of computing and the related fields of IT, maths, physics, media communications, electronic engineering, and natural sciences.
Dictionary of Computer and Internet Terms (print) by Douglas Downing; Michael Covington; Melody Maudlin Covington; Catherine Anne Covington
Call Number: QA76.15 .D667 2009X
ISBN: 9780764141058
Publication Date: 2009-05-01
Computer terminology is constantly expanding, and the brand-new edition of this dictionary has been updated to keep pace with the latest important innovations in computer science and technology. Emphasis is on helpful information for non-technical home computer users. The book presents more than 3,200 computer-related terms with clear and succinct definitions. Revised features include up-to-date information on Windows Vista, networking, data storage, video, computer security and ethics, and personal computer hardware. Tables, charts, graphs, photos, and line illustrations.

Research Guides

Computer Science

Engineering & Computer Science Library