Research guides: ARC 2017: Research Methods: Home

LibrarySearch

LibrarySearch provides access to library collections in print and digital formats including books, articles, videos, maps, government documents, music, data sets, and more. You can also discover materials that are not available at U of T but that you can request for free through interlibrary loan.

When to use LibrarySearch?

Use LibrarySearch when you want to find:

An exact book or article by title
Various formats (e.g. books, e-books, articles, etc.)
Sources on an interdisciplinary topic

.

Library Databases

Use databases to search for articles more efficiently. The databases listed below are the most popular for searching interdisciplinary topics and in architecture.

A full list of databases related to architecture can be found here.

Books on Design Research

Architectural Research Methods by Linda N. Groat; David Wang
From searching for the best glass to prevent glare to determining how clients might react to the color choice for restaurant walls, research is a crucial tool that architects must master in order to effectively address the technical, aesthetic, and behavioral issues that arise in their work. In all, the book covers seven types of research, including historical, qualitative, correlational, experimental, simulation, logical argumentation, and case studies and mixed methods.
The Routledge Companion to Design Research by Paul Rodgers (Editor); Joyce Yee (Editor)
The Routledge Companion to Design Research offers a comprehensive examination of design research, celebrating the plurality of design research and the wide range of conceptual, methodological, technological and theoretical approaches evident in contemporary design research. This volume comprises 39 original and high quality design research chapters from contributors around the world, with offerings from the vast array of disciplines in and around modern design praxis, including areas such as industrial and product design, visual communication, interaction design, fashion design, service design, engineering and architecture.
The Designer's Guide to Doing Research by Sally Augustin; Cindy Coleman
The Designer's Guide to Doing Research serves as an introductory guide on the general concepts and processes that define "good" research.
Design Research Now by Ralf Michel (Editor)
Design Research Now - Essays and Selected Projects charts the field of design research with introductory essays and selected research projects. The authors of the essays, all leading international design scholars, stake out positions on the most important issues of design research. They locate the significance of design research at the interface with technological development, describe what makes it a necessary ingredient of the continued development of the design disciplines, and assign it a seminal role in the relevant developments of society. The essays are supplemented by the presentation of recently completed research projects.
Mapping Design Research by Simon Grand (Editor); Wolfgang Jonas (Editor)
An authoritative and scientifically based collection of 18 international texts since 1960 that mirrors and analyses the principal developmental phases of design research and scientific research. The importance of the focus on pivotal texts for the design research cannot be overstated. However, while certain charismatic names come up in the discussion, the community has thus far lacked a handbook that is straightforward and accessible. Grand and Jonas have now filled this gap. Compiled on the basis of a deep and extensive knowledge of the field, their essays situate and elucidate these exciting texts and aid readers in understanding them.

Researrrrch Guides

ARC 2017: Research Methods

Librarian

LibrarySearch

When to use LibrarySearch?

.

Library Databases

Books on Design Research

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us