Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

ANT368 World Religions and Ecology

A guide to specific resources that help students find targeted resources on current environmental and ecological issues as interpreted by major religious traditions.

Databases Specializing in Religions and Spirituality

At UofT we have a variety of specialized databases designed to help you find scholarly journal articles on your topic.  In this list you will find databases addressing specific religious traditions (Index Islamicus or New Testament Abstracts) as well as databases casting a broader net (ProQuest Religion).

America: History and Life is one of our better resources for researching Native traditions.

Databases Specializing in Environmental Research

In this list you will find databases addressing environmental issues from a variety of perspectives. Resources such as Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management will let you explore core environmental issues from many sides, and unique government document indexes such as Policy File and GreenFILE will help you get rare glimpes behind the scenes of environment-altering decisions.

Please keep in mind that interdisciplinary science databases like Scopus and Web of Science can help thorougly expose the science, but without delving into philosophical or spiritual implications.

Interdisciplinary and Multidisciplinary Databases

Multidisciplinary databases will offer many perspectives. BAS will offer Asian insights on environmental or spiritual issues while IBSS will cover ethical and cultural ramifications. Please note that the first three databases on the list include the Native American perspective.

Use Article Finder with ATLA, BAS and II Citations

With the new ALL search and ARTICLE search, it is easy to broaden your searches. 

Other tools, like Article Finder, help you to find a specfific article for which you have the citation.

Ulrich's Periodical Directory

Ulrich's Periodical directory allows you to see whether a journal in which you found and article is scholarly and peer-reviewed.  Search for the title of the journal in Ulrich's

Click on the title to see information about the journal's audience and review style.