The UofT-held top specialist resources for the archaeology of South Asia include:
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)
No full text. Produced by the Association for Asian Studies. A major database for Asian Studies, the Bibliography of Asian Studies is an important record of research and scholarly literature on Asia written in Western languages. It covers countries and civilizations of East, Southeast and South Asia, and overseas Asian communities in North America, Europe and elsewhere in the world. It is produced by the Association for Asian Studies.
Includes a fair amount of full-text linking. Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute into one searchable resource. It indexes more than 2500 journals and edited works published worldwide. Includes all core periodicals and lesser-known journals, and contains over 850,000 records.
International Bibliography of Social Sciences (IBSS)
A major index for social science and interdisciplinary scholarly research. The main focus is on the four core social science subjects of anthropology, economics, politics and sociology.
FRANCIS is strong in religion, art history, philosophy, psychology, education, linguistics, archeology, information science, sociology and literature. FRANCIS is published by Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique du Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (INIST-CNRS), a unit of the French National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS).
A full text database with information on prehistory of the world. eHRAF Archaeology is unique in that information is organized into archaeological traditions. Over 41 major archaeological traditions are classified using codes from the Outline of World Cultures (OWC). In addition, text is indexed by subject according to HRAF’s Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM). The database is produced at Yale University by the Human Relations Area Files, Inc., a non-profit consortium of universities and colleges.
Google Scholar
As a member of the U of T community you have access to many of the articles that are listed in Google Scholar. Follow these steps to configure Google Scholar to automatically connect to the library's resources.
This video by University of Toronto Libraries demonstrates how to configure your Google Scholar settings.
Ulrich's Periodical directory allows you to see whether a journal in which you found and article is scholarly and peer-reviewed. Search for the title of the journal in Ulrich's
Click on the title to see information about the journal's audience and review style.
