Research Guides: Anglican Studies: World Wide Anglicanism

World Wide Anglicanism

Anglicanism: A Global Communion by Andrew Wingate
Publication Date: 1998
A collection of essays by 81 contributors from all parts of the Anglican Communion.
The Anglican Tradition from a Postcolonial Perspective by Kwok Pui-lan
Publication Date: 2023
From a major scholar, a postcolonial perspective on key current and historical issues in Anglicanism, foregrounding the voices of theologians and church leaders from the Global South. In recent years, the Anglican Communion has been consumed by debates about gender, sexuality, authority, and biblical interpretation, which have frequently divided along North/South lines. Much of these controversies stem from the colonial history of Anglicanism. Written by a pioneer in postcolonial theology, this groundbreaking volume challenges Eurocentrism and racism in the Anglican Communion by highlighting the voices of theologians and church leaders from the Global South.
Growth and Decline in the Anglican Communion, 1980 to Present by David Goodhew (Editor)
Publication Date: 2016
The first study of the Anglican Communion's dramatic growth and decline in the years since 1980. An international team of leading researchers based across five continents provides a global overview of Anglicanism alongside twelve detailed case studies. The case studies stretch from Singapore to England, Nigeria to the USA and mostly focus on non-western Anglicanism. This book is a critical resource for students and scholars seeking an understanding of the past, present and future of the Anglican Church.
A History of Global Anglicanism by Kevin Ward
Publication Date: 2006
Questions the assumption that Anglicanism can be seen as irredeemably English. Explores the character of churches in the global south which are now a majority in the world-wide communion, and shows how they are decisively shaping what it means to be Anglican. While emphasising the importance of colonialism and neo-colonialism for explaining the globalisation of Anglicanism, does not focus predominantly on the churches of Britain and N. America; nor does it privilege the idea of Anglicanism as an 'expansion of English Christianity. Analyses the present crisis over homosexuality within a world-wide context.
An Introduction to World Anglicanism by Bruce Kaye
Publication Date: 2008
Describes the foundations of the Anglican tradition and outlines its central beliefs and practices, focusing on mission, liturgy, engagement, and power, knowledge and authority in the church. Includes chapters on women’s ordination and on homosexuality, and looks to the challenges of the future. Addresses the challenges of diversity and the possibility of federalism, with non-British Anglicanism given much more weight than in most books. Provides key information on origins, doctrine and practice.
The Making of Anglican Church Worldwide by W.M. Jacob
Publication Date: 1997
Describes the development of the Anglican communion from its origins in the Reformation up to the year 1960. It is concerned primarily with the Church of England as an institution, and with how events and ideas shaped the development of that institution.
The Oxford History of Anglicanism, Volume V: Global Anglicanism, c. 1910-2000 by William L. Sachs (Editor)
Publication Date: 2019
Volume five of The Oxford History of Anglicanism considers the global experience of the Church of England in mission and in the transitions of its mission churches towards autonomy in the twentieth century. The contributors focus on what it has meant to be Anglican in diverse contexts, addressing topics including decolonization, mission, enculturation, and inter-faith relations.
The Transformation of Anglicanism: From State Church to Global Communion by William L. Sachs
Publication Date: 1993
Explains how Anglicanism was transformed from being primarily an "establishment" to becoming a missionary church in diverse contexts. Shows how modern circumstances gave the Church both challenges to overcome and opportunities for expansion, and seeks to understand the nature of Anglicanism's adaptation to modern culture. Not simply a narrative history of an institution, this is the story of various persons who sought a new vision of what it meant to be Anglican and in so doing fundamentally changed the character of the Church.
The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to the Anglican Communion by Ian S. Markham (Editor) et al.
Publication Date: 2013
Comprehensive reference work provides a global account of the history, expansion, diversity, and contemporary issues facing the Anglican Communion. Includes a full directory of the Church's 44 provinces, with a brief history of each, alongside bibliographies.

Research Guides

Anglican Studies

Instruction and Theology Librarian

World Wide Anglicanism

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us