Research guides: WGS102H5: Reading and Writing in Women and Gender Studies: Finding Journal Articles

Find an Article from a Citation

Finding Articles - Using Databases

Use the databases below to find scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles for your assignment.

★ Make sure to use Ulrich's Web if the database does not have a peer-review option. ★

Gender Studies Database [EBSCO]
Provides interdisciplinary coverage of gender-related topics including women's studies, men's studies, ethnic studies, health issues, and sexual diversity.
LGBTQ+ Source [EBSCO]
Index to Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender literature, with full text for some important GLBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers. Disciplines covered by GLBT Life include civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, politics, psychology, religion, sociology and more.
Contemporary Women's Issues [Gale]
Includes: mainstream periodicals, "gray" literature, and the alternative press -- with a focus on the critical issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries.
Sociological Abstracts [ProQuest]
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
See our video tutorial below.
APA PsycInfo®
The major index for scholarly literature in psychology from the 1800’s to the present. PsycInfo includes material of relevance to practitioners, researchers and students working in all areas of psychology, the behavioural sciences, and other related disciplines.
Education Source [EBSCO]
Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing. Subject matter includes Adult Education, Continuing Education, Distance Learning, Government Funding, Multicultural/Ethic Education, Social Issues, Student Counseling, Vocational Education as well as many others.

GEOBASE This link opens in a new window
Database for physical and human geography, earth and environmental sciences, ecology, and related disciplines, focusing on the human and social impacts on both.

* Some contents can be primary sources as well.

LibrarySearch Tips

The LibrarySearch (the UofT Library Catalogue) may not be user-friendly to you unless you know search tips and tricks.

Check tips listed on the LibrarySearch Tips page, which includes:

What type of information are you using?

Your research paper may require you to consult a wide range of sources.

To locate information on your topic you will use a selection of course readings, newspaper articles and popular sources to identify the media coverage and reaction, then you will be looking for scholarly articles to support your analysis.

You may find these sources help you identify the type of material you have found as you search for information.

Peer Review Check with Ulrichsweb

Ulrichsweb.com
If you are not sure whether a journal is peer-reviewed or not, this database is very helpful.
Instead of using "peer reviewed," they use referred.

Watch the following video to take advantage of Ulrichsweb:

0:00 – How to find Ulrichsweb, using LibrarySearch
0:51 -- Remember to type in the JOURNAL title, not the article title
1:58 -- Make sure your article is a research article, since peer reviewed journals have other content
3:21 -- You can access the journal through Ulrichsweb