Research guides: VIC134 Globalization (w2024): Reference/Overview Sources

Subject-specific encyclopedias, companions & dictionaries

About Reference Sources

Reference sources may take the form of bibliographies, companions, handbooks, dictionaries, manuals, and more.
Their purpose is to provide background information on specific topics:

Reference sources are useful for understanding a specific topic, concept, or terminology
Encyclopedias and companions often include bibliographies or suggest related topics
Suggestions below are for subject-specific reference sources for more in-depth explanations of topics, concepts, or terms

Below is a list of reference sources on topics covered in VIC134

Research Handbook on the Sociology of Globalization [ONLINE] by Christian Karner (Editor); Dirk Hofäcker (Editor)
ISBN: 9781839101564
Publication Date: 2023-07-25
The Routledge International Handbook of Globalization Studies [PRINT & ONLINE] by Bryan Turner (Editor); Robert Holton (Editor)
Call Number: UofT Scarborough, HF1365 .R68 2016 (Search title and check availability)
ISBN: 1317964918
Publication Date: 2015-12-22
The SAGE Handbook of Globalization [PRINT & ONLINE] by Manfred B. Steger (Editor); Paul Battersby (Editor); Joseph M. Siracusa (Editor)
Call Number: Trinity College Library (Reference), JZ1318 .G67 2014
ISBN: 9781446256220
Publication Date: 2014-06-19
The Oxford Handbook of Global Studies [PRINT & ONLINE] by Manfred B. Steger (Editor); Saskia Sassen (Editor); Victor Faessel (Editor); Mark Juergensmeyer (Editor)
Call Number: Robarts Library + other UTL, JZ1318 .O96 2019X (Search title and check availability)
ISBN: 9780190630577
Publication Date: 2018-12-05
Handbook on the Geographies of Globalization [ONLINE] by Robert C. Kloosterman (Editor); Virginie Mamadouh (Editor); Pieter Terhorst (Editor)
ISBN: 9781785363849
Publication Date: 2018-11-30
Handbook of Globalisation and Development [PRINT & ONLINE] by Kenneth A. Reinert (Editor)
Call Number: Trinity College Library, HF1365 .H36 2017 (Search title and check availability)
ISBN: 9781783478644
Publication Date: 2017-03-31
Handbook of Migration and Globalisation [ONLINE] by Anna Triandafyllidou (Editor)
ISBN: 1785367501
Publication Date: 2018-02-23
Handbook of Globalisation and Tourism [ONLINE] by Dallen J. Timothy (Editor)
ISBN: 1786431289
Publication Date: 2019-12-02
Handbook on Globalisation and Labour Standards [ONLINE] by Kimberly A. Elliott (Editor)
ISBN: 9781788977364
Publication Date: 2022-03-18
The Handbook of Language and Globalization [PRINT + ONLINE] by Nikolas Coupland (Editor)
Call Number: Robarts Library, P130.5 .H358 2010X (Search title and check availability)
ISBN: 1444351621
Publication Date: 2011-07-05
The Routledge Handbook of Translation and Globalization [ONLINE] by Esperança Bielsa (Editor); Dionysios Kapsaskis (Editor)
ISBN: 9781000283723
Publication Date: 2020-12-30
The Routledge Handbook of Digital Media and Globalization [ONLINE] by Dal Yong Jin (Editor)
ISBN: 9780367816742
Publication Date: 2021-05-12
Handbook of Globalization and the Environment [ONLINE] by Khi V. Thai (Editor); Dianne Rahm (Editor); Jerrell D. Coggburn (Editor)
Call Number: Robarts Library + other UTL, GE170 .H3663 2007X (Older edition, search title and check availability)
ISBN: 1351564544
Publication Date: 2017-09-25 (online)
Encyclopedia of Climate Change [ONLINE] by Richard M. Renneboog (Editor)
ISBN: 1637003722
Publication Date: 2022-12-30
Handbook on the Globalisation of Agriculture [ONLINE] by Guy M. Robinson (Editor); Doris A. Carson (Editor)
ISBN: 9780857939821
Publication Date: 2015-06-26
International Studies Encyclopedia [ONLINE]
ISBN: 9780191842665
Publication Date: 2017

Oxford Reference Online

Multi-disciplinary reference sources (from short subject/discipline dictionary definitions, to fulsome entries in a subject companion or encyclopedia)