Reference sources are a great place to start your research. The entries are authored by experts and academics and provide context for your research topic, such as definitions, general description, associated names, dates, events, related terminology and may even mention sub-topics.
Often, reference entries include bibliographies to suggest additional and/or seminal readings on the topic.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance [ONLINE] by 
The World of Renaissance Italy: a Daily Life Encyclopedia (2 Vols.) [ONLINE] by 
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance [ONLINE & PRINT]
Encyclopedia of Women in the Renaissance [ONLINE & PRINT] by 
The Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art via Oxford Reference [ONLINE] by Oxford Bibliographies Online provides annotated bibliographies, which help you find primary sources and secondary sources, such as scholarly books, chapters, and articles. These suggestions are a good first step for writing your own research paper, although it is crucial to go beyond them to forward your own argument.
See this video how to guide on how to use Oxford Bibliographies effectively.
Renaissance-specific annotated bibliographies can be found here: Renaissance and Reformation - Oxford Bibliographies
Suggested entries for topics in this course:
The Centre for Reformation and Renaissance Studies (CRRS) at Victoria University in the University of Toronto is a research and teaching centre with a library devoted to the study of the period from approximately 1350 to 1700.
The CRRS has compiled a list of online resources on major topics relating to the Reformation and Renaissance.
