Subject headings are a feature of most databases (including the UTM Library website and academic databases) that help to organize information, and can be a great tool to help you find sources on a topic. Subject headings are standardized terms that work like tags - all sources will be assigned a subject heading based on the topics they cover.
You can find list of subject headings in the filtering options in the database you are using. Keep in mind that the subject headings for the same topic can vary from database to database - keep an eye out for the terms and subject headings each database you use applies to your topic.
Here are some examples of subject headings in LibrarySearch, the UTM Library database:
Here is an example from ATLA Religion:
Keep track of the subject headings that come up for sources you find that are a really good fit for your topic, they will give you more keywords to use, and help you be even more precise in your search.
Here are some suggested subject headings to use for your assignment:
Make use of the filters available on each database you use. Filters will help you narrow down your result list to be as relevant as possible, based on your search.
Here are some examples of useful filters on LibrarySearch:
Advanced Search Filters
In Advanced Search, you can select "Subject" as your search field to use the subject heading suggestions listed above:
You can also select a specific format, like "Books" or "Articles"
Results List Page:
Once you hit search and have a list of results, you'll also have more filters available.
You can choose whether you'd like print or online sources, and even limit to peer reviewed articles:
And you can keep filtering by subject headings:
