Research Guides: SOC416 Senior Seminar in the Sociology of Culture: Journal Articles

Finding Articles Using a Database

Use the databases below to find peer-reviewed scholarly articles for your assignments. Check out our videos below for instructions on how to develop keywords, how to search a databases, and how to check for peer review.

Sociological Abstracts
This database covers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It includes journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers from 1952 to the present.
Communications Abstracts
"Communication Abstracts covers major journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create research and reference resource that encompasses the breadth of communication discipline and depth encompasses the breadth of the communication discipline." - Description from publisher.
AnthroSource
Developed by The American Anthropological Association (AAA). Indexes and provides full text access to all the AAA's peer reviewed journals, newsletters and bulletins.
Anthropology Plus
Anthropology Plus covers the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
Scopus
Multidisciplinary database that provides access to journal articles, books and conference papers.
Social Science Citation Index (Web of Science)
Multidisciplinary database that indexes scholarly material in the social sciences from 1900 to the present.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
This database provides cross-disciplinary coverage across the social sciences, focused on four primary subject areas: anthropology, economics, political science and sociology from 1951 to the present.
America: History and Life
The major source for United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. It is an excellent source for research in the fields of American history, Canadian history, popular culture, American studies, women's studies/gender studies, multicultural studies, politics and other fields of study.
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. This database provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.

Finding Articles in Journals

Articles for your assignments can also be found in the journals listed below. Browse the journals by selecting the year of publication and then the volume and issue numbers.

Journal of Consumer Culture
Available from 2001 to the present from numerous vendors. Click the blue web links under "View Online" to access volumes and issues of the journal.
"The Journal of Consumer Culture is fully peer reviewed journal, that supports and promotes the continuing expansion in interdisciplinary research focused on consumption and consumer culture, opening up debates and areas of exploration. Global in perspective and drawing on both theory and empirical research, the journal reflects the need to engage critically with modern consumer culture and to understand its central role in contemporary social processes." - Description from publisher.
European Journal of Cultural Studies
Available from 1998 to the present from numerous vendors. Click the blue web links under "View Online" to access volumes and issues of the journal.
"The topics covered by European Journal of Cultural Studies cover a wide range. This is a result of our double focus on relations of power and processes of meaning making as the twin sides to how ‘culture’ is produced. Topic areas include (among others): popular cultural forms and practices; music; consumer cultures; media, film and television culture; post-colonial criticism; cultural policy; citizenship, sexualities, youth culture and class relations; intersectional constructions of identity; populism; creative industries." - Description from publisher.
American Journal of Cultural Sociology
Click the blue web link under "View Online" to access volumes and issues of the journal.
"This journal focuses on the cultural aspects of contemporary sociology, and creates a common forum for scholars, practitioners, and researchers worldwide to follow the latest developments and debates within the field." - Description from publisher.
Poetics
Available from 1971 to the present from numerous vendors. Click the blue web links under "View Online" to access volumes and issues of the journal.
"Poetics is an interdisciplinary journal of theoretical and empirical research on culture, the media and the arts. Particularly welcome are papers that make an original contribution to the major disciplines - sociology, psychology, media and communication studies, and economics - within which promising lines of research on culture, media and the arts have been developed." - Description from publisher.
Agriculture and Human Values
"Seeks to create educational and scholarly junctures among the humanities, the social sciences, food and nutrition studies, and the agricultural disciplines, and to promote and ethical, social, and biological understanding of agriculture." - Description from publisher
Food, Culture, & Society
Click on the blue web links under 'View Online' to access the journal. "Food, Culture and Society: An International Journal of Multidisciplinary Research is an international peer-reviewed publication dedicated to exploring the complex relationships among food, culture, and society from numerous disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as in the world of food beyond the academy." - Description from publisher
Click on the blue web links under 'View Online' to access the journal.
Gastronomica: The Journal of Critical Food Studies
Click on the blue web links under 'View Online' to access the journal. "Gastronomica is a peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary, international journal publishing critical, translational studies on food. In the pages of Gastronomica, you will find examinations of historical trends and transformations in food and eating; analyses of the political, economic, and social dimensions of food production and consumption; research briefs on emerging issues in fields related to food research and innovation; and interviews with key figures in the world of food (scholars, activists, producers, and consumers)." - description from publisher
Appetite
"Specializes in behavioral nutrition and the cultural, sensory, and physiological influences on choices and intakes of foods and drinks." - Description from publisher
British Food Journal
Click on the blue web links under 'View Online' to access the journal. This journal "covers all aspects of the food industry, from processing, health and nutrition, retail, consumer preferences, marketing and regulation." - Description from publisher
Canadian Food Studies
"Canadian Food Studies / La Revue canadienne des études sur l’alimentation is the open-access, online journal of the Canadian Association for Food Studies. As diverse and entangled as the subject of food itself, CFS/RCÉA provides a critical resource to those interested in the myriad ways in which humans, food, and the natural and built environments come to construct one another." - Description from publisher

Need help finding a specific journal? Check out our video below.

How to Develop Keywords

Before using a database, you'll need to identify keywords. Check out the video below and the Keyword Worksheet for help developing keywords.

To download a copy of the worksheet, click here or on the PDF link below.

Keyword Worksheet

How to Search Sociological Abstracts

Check out the video below for instructions on how to search Sociological Abstracts. The tips and tricks described in the video can be used in other databases.

Need help using boolean operators? Check out the UTM Library's guide, Searching with Boolean Operators, or download the PDF by clicking the link below.

Searching with Boolean Operators

Is Your Article Peer-Reviewed?

Not sure if your article is peer-reviewed? Check out our PDF Guide (available below) or our video for instructions on how to search Ulrich's Periodical.

Ulrichsweb Peer Review