Research Guides: SOC209 Introduction to Criminology, Law and Society: Journal Articles

Finding Articles Using a Database

Check out our YouTube video for an explanation of peer review and scholarly/academic sources.

Use Criminal Justice Abstracts or Sociological Abstracts (links below) to find scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles for your assignments.

Criminal Justice Abstracts
A major database for criminology and criminal justice. Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text includes full text and bibliographic records from leading journals and other important sources within the field of criminal justice.
Sociological Abstracts
The major index to the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in 30 different languages from about 55 countries. The database includes both theoretical and applied literature and includes a major thesaurus.

Need help developing keywords? Check out the University of Houston Libraries' YouTube video and our Keyword Worksheet.

For help searching Sociological Abstracts and other ProQuest products, check out our YouTube video. The tips and tricks described in the video can be used in other databases. Click here for additional information on boolean operators (AND/OR/NOT), truncation (*), quotation marks (" "), and wildcard (?) searching.

Finding Articles in Journals

Additional articles for your assignment may be found in the journals listed below. You can browse the journals by selecting the year of publication and then the volume and issue numbers.

American Journal of Sociology
American Sociological Review
British Journal of Criminology
Canadian Journal of Criminology
Ceased publication in 2002
Canadian Journal of Criminology and Criminal Justice
Canadian Journal of Sociology
Available from various vendors. Click on the blue 'Web' links under "Holdings". Use the date provided in the link to select a vendor.
Crime & Delinquency
Criminology
Criminology & Public Policy
Critical Criminology
Available from various vendors. Click on the blue 'Web' links under "Holdings". Use the date provided in the link to select a vendor.
Feminist Criminology
Gender & Society
Punishment & Society
Social Problems
Available from various vendors. Click on the blue 'Web' links under "Holdings". Use the date provided in the link to select a vendor.
Theoretical Criminology

Peer Review

Not sure if your article is peer-reviewed? Check out our print guide or video below for instructions on how to search Ulrich's Periodical.

Print Guide:

Peer Review Check: Ulrichsweb

Video: