It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
— takes a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role in everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.
— contains authoritative information on a wide range of topics related to religion and spiritual practice, including belief, worship, religious art and architecture, rituals, myths, and symbols.
— has extensive biographical profiles of major figures in the world's religions and religious studies.
Key features include:
— over 6,000 A-to-Z articles from the Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls to The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible
— Six Oxford editions of the Bible, as well as the books Apocryphal New Testament and Apocryphal Old Testament and the entirety of Oxford Bible Commentary, with the ability to compare bibles and biblical commentaries
— Two concordances with special functionality: New American Bible Concise Concordance and Concise Concordance to the NRSV
— 5,000 A-Z reference entries, including content from the forthcoming Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible (2011)
— Materials providing visual, geographic, and social perspectives on biblical studies, including full-color maps and hundreds of illustrations
— Timelines of biblical rulers and biblical history and links to relevant content within the site
Volume I: literature and languages
— General: Canonicity, Tripiṭaka, Āgama/Nikāya, Vinayas, Abhidharma, Kanjur
— Mahāyāna Sūtra Literature
— Tantric Literature
— Nonscriptural: Commentary, Belles Lettres, Dramatic Works, Philosophical Literature, Ritual Texts, etc. Volume II:
Lives 1: Śākyamuni: South Asia & Barlaam and Josaphat
Lives 2: South & Southeast Asia, East Asia, China, Korea, Japan, and Tibetan Cultural Sphere
The Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism bridges the major Buddhist traditions to provide encyclopedic coverage of the most important terms, concepts, texts, authors, deities, schools, monasteries, and geographical sites from across the history of Buddhism. It covers terms from all of the canonical Buddhist languages and traditions: Sanskrit, Pali, Tibetan, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean.
Provides accessible and well-researched biographies of a wide range of figures, from Buddhist masters to artists and political officials; most essays are peer reviewed. Content is enhanced by a dynamic map of Asia.
Docuseek streams independent, social-issue and environmental documentaries to colleges and universities, providing exclusive access to content from Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Women Make Movies, Kartemquin Films, First Run Features, KimStim, First Hand Films, MediaStorm, Scorpion TV, Terra Nova Films, Viewpoint Productions, Film Movement, Deckert Distribution, The Films of Anand Patwardhan, etc.
Visit the Subjects: e.g., Christianity, Catholicism, Judaism, Islam, Hinduism, Buddhism, and Shi'ia.