REN242 Scientific Worldviews of the Renaissance

The overview sources below are an excellent place to start your research.

• May provide detailed contextual information on Renaissance society that informs your response to one of the 3 topics/prompts for your proposal, outline and final essay.
• All titles listed below constitute "scholarly sources".
• Note: Shorter sections (entries/definitions) within the sources below may be helpful for clarifying details (dates, regions, terminology). Only more substantial chapters/entries (at least ~800 wds.) would be eligible as one of your assignment's cited sources (bibliography). If unsure, please check with Prof. Barseghyan
• Tip: think of the broader categories of your topic (e.g., medicine, astrology, prophecies, religion, astronomy) and use the table of contents or the alphabetical topic index (typically at the end of the (e)Book) to find information related to your chosen scenario.

Oxford Bibliographies Online

...provides annotated bibliographies, which help you find primary sources and secondary sources, such as scholarly books, chapters, and articles. These suggestions are a good first step for writing your own research paper, although it is crucial to go beyond them to forward your own argument.

Video on how to use Oxford Bibliographies effectively.

Renaissance-specific annotated bibliographies can be found here: Renaissance and Reformation - Oxford Bibliographies

Pathways to primary Sources

The Centre for Reformation and Renaissance Studies (CRRS) at Victoria University in the University of Toronto is a research and teaching centre with a library devoted to the study of the period from approximately 1350 to 1700. The physical library is on the 3rd floor of the E.J. Pratt Library and the books are not loanable (consult on-site only).

The CRRS has compiled a list of online resources many links to collections which include digitized primary sources from the Reformation and Renaissance.