Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by 
Oxford Bibliogrpahies Online: The DSM by 
Classifying Madness by 
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, DSM-IV-TR by 
Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (DSM-III) by Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders. (DSM-II) by Diagnostic and statistical manual: mental disorders (DSM-I) by There are two ways of accessing PsycINFO: through the ProQuest platform (a more intuitive access point with full Boolean searching), and through the OVID platform. Both pathways give access to the comprehensive APA PsycINFO Thesaurus updated in 2021. Here is a help guide for using the APA PsycINFO via the OVID platform.
Getting the most out of your PsycINFO searches is easier with authoritative help. Try this expert guide to APA PsycINFO:
Trying to find EMPIRICAL primary studies in psychology?
You can use APA PsycINFO's Methodology limits to help you. The video below, even though it uses the PsyNet interface instead of our ProQuest, shows you the strategy for limiting your search to Empirical Studies (Hint: Use the options in the Methodology box pictured below):
The video below shows you how to get the most out of the APA PsycINFO Thesaurus (updated in 2011):
Trying to find a citation, an author's h-index, or an impact factor?
Web of Science and Scopus are your databases of choice, and they are linked below:
Looking for a database on a specific topic within the wider field of psychology?
Abstracts from journals in nursing and health professions. The platform is appropriate for systematic and scoping reviews as well as advanced searches.
The database provides access to journals and grey literature (reports, technical papers, dissertations, theses, and conference proceedings) in education.
Provides interdisciplinary coverage of gender-related topics including women's studies, men's studies, ethnic studies, health issues, and sexual diversity.
English and French Canadian legal sources (journals, court and tribunal cases, legislation, commentary.) Some coverage for UK, US, Australia.
Abstracts for international research in linguistics and related disciplines.
Core database for health sciences disciplines. The Ovid platform is appropriate for systematic and scoping reviews as well as other advanced searches.
Public version of Medline, the core database for health sciences disciplines. This platform is best for quick clinical searches.
Surveys the discipline from an international, cross-cultural focus, including entries related to culture as well as all domains of psychology.
Includes over 500 topical entries. Each entry features suggested readings and extensive cross-referencing. Edited by two outstanding scholars and clinicians.
A reference book intended for students in related fields, covering key terminology and pioneers in psychology, and recent developments.
A handbook of references, terms and abbreviations related to neuroanatomy, psychology, medicine and their experiments and therapies.
1200 entries about laws, theories, hypotheses, doctrines, principles, and effects in early and contemporary psychological literature.
This resource covers notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology.
Each chapter covers a methodological topic with equal attention paid to established theory and the challenges facing methodologists.
Surveys the entire range of thinking in psychology, from past to present, encompassing philosophies and theories of mind that pre-date our modern conception of psychology as a science.
The science and practice of psychology has evolved around the world on different trajectories and timelines.
Explores the set of theoretical, methodological, ethical and analytical issues that shape how visual qualitative research is conducted in psychology.
Presents a comprehensive exploration of the wide range of methodological approaches utilized in the contemporary field.
The field of mathematical psychology includes both psychological theorizing and applied mathematics motivated by substantive problems in psychology.
Integrates philosophy of science, data acquisition methods, and statistical modeling techniques to present a forward-thinking perspective on clinical science.
Explains how different methods enrich understanding of how consumers process information to form judgments and opinions and to make consumption-related decisions.
Theoretical and applied approaches to using qualitative research methods in ethnographic studies of consumer behavior.
Meta-analysis is the application of statistics to combine results from multiple studies and draw inferences.
This book serves as an A-Z reference that addresses the neuropsychological aspects of 300 neurological, neuropsychiatric, and neuromedical disorders.
Comprehensively covers the foundation knowledge in the field: 210 chapters on topics ranging from neuroethology and learning and memory, to behavioral disorders and psychiatric diseases.
Covers functional neuroanatomy, drawing on contemporary neuroscientific techniques, functional imaging, cognitive psychology, cognitive neuropsychology.
This second edition of the Handbook of Medical Neuropsychology takes an in-depth approach to the medical conditions and methods of neurorehabilitation.
This book provides the most up-to-date terminology used to describe the human nervous system (central and peripheral) and the related sensory organs.
Covers perceptual issues, attention, memory, knowledge representation, language, emotional influences, judgment, problem solving.
The biological bases for behavior and their neural underpinnings (research from clinical neuroscience and genetics, psychology, behavioral neuroscience, and neuroethology).
Expert overviews of many complex topics in pain research that are of interest not just to pain researchers, but also to pain clinicians.
Surveys different types of cognitive processes, neuroscience, artificial intelligence, cognitive ergonomics and human-computer interaction.
An interdisciplinary, comprehensive volume in the field that brings together contributions from a wide range of experts on fundamental and cutting-edge topics.
The Handbook of Research Methods in Human Memory presents a collection of chapters on methodology used by researchers in investigating human memory.
Defines the terminology used in the fields of sensation and perception and describes the biological and physical bases required for understanding sensory experiences.
A great deal is known about the mechanics, evolution, and development of color vision, but less is known about the relation between color vision and psychology.
The first cross-disciplinary academic reference on the subject, gathering the current body of scholarship on listening in one comprehensive volume.
Updates the original landmark text and provides a comprehensive review of the latest developments in this fast growing area of research.
Considers music on a broad scale, from its beginning as an acoustical signal to its different manifestations across cultures.
Focuses on the interpretation of music through mental function: perceiving, remembering, creating, performing, and responding to music.
Embraces concepts and practices imported from semiotics, literary criticism, linguistics, the visual arts, philosophy, sociology, history, and psychology.
Provides a comprehensive overview of: the history of clinical psychology, specialties and settings, theoretical and research approaches, assessment, treatment and prevention, psychological disorders, health and relational disorders.
The Encyclopedia of Cognitive Behavior Therapy brings together all of the key aspects of this field distilling decades of clinical wisdom into one authoritative volume.
Advancing current thought and models in the field, this work provides an unparalleled attempt to approach this important subject from many perspectives.
Jung appeals not only to professionals who are looking for a more humane and creative way of working with their clients, but also to academics in an increasingly wide range of disciplines.
Addresses mental health disorders, assessment tools and psychotherapeutic interventions, and the social, legal, and cultural frameworks in abnormal and clinical psychology.
Major clinical and research methods are clearly mapped out (e.g. MRI, behavioral economics, interview assessments, and qualitative approaches).
Covers the biological bases of health behavior, stress and coping, and the design and evaluation of behavioral interventions.
Draws on special education; mental health services; school, clinical, and community psychology; social work; developmental psychology and psychopathology; and prevention science.
Emotion dysregulation, which is often defined as the inability to modulate strong negative affective states including impulsivity, anger, fear, sadness, and anxiety, is observed in nearly all psychiatric disorders.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development remains the most authoritative and accessible account of all aspects of child development.
The authoritative source that encompasses the entire range of concepts and topics involved in the study of applied developmental science.
Comprehensive entry point into all of the existing literature on child development from the fields of psychology, genetics, neuroscience, and sociology.
The essential reference on human development.
Lifespan human development is the study of all aspects of biological, physical, cognitive, socioemotional, and contextual development from conception to the end of life. In approximately 800 signed articles by experts from a wide diversity of fields, this volume explores all individual and situational factors related to human development across the lifespan.
Exploring the themes of communication and implementation of research within developmental psychology.
Mental health care in older adults as presented by leading experts in the field.
Navigates the historical, political, social and cultural dimensions of childhood. Transdisciplinary in content and scope.
Understanding the many diverse aspects of parenting.
Summarizes cutting-edge personality research in all its forms, including genetics, psychometrics, social-cognitive psychology.
Explore the various tools and methods available to craft experiments and imagine new methodological possibilities.
Overview of individual differences within the domain of personality: research design, taxonomy, biological factors, evolutionary evidence, motivation, cognition and emotion, gender differences, cultural considerations, and personality disorders.
Looks at the many likenesses and differences between individuals.
Seminal reference in the field of positive psychology, which continues to transcend the boundaries of academia to capture the imagination of the general public.
State-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts from this fascinating field.
Covers intergroup processes: cognition, motivation, emotion, communication and social influence, changing intergroup relations, social comparison, self-identity, methods and applications.
Covers social cognition, attitudes, and attribution theory.
Explores diverse conceptualisations of well-being, providing an overview of key issues and drawing attention to current debates and critiques.
Consolidates and advances knowledge about the scientific foundations and practical application of psychology to law, the practice of law, and law-related policy.
The text answers some of the most challenging questions psychiatrists face when mental health intersects with the courtroom.
Aims to demonstrate how forensic psychology contributes to police investigations.
Presents a survey of research and legal opinions on the rapidly expanding scientific literature addressing the accuracy and limitations of eyewitnesses as a source of evidence for the courts.
Psychologists act as expert witnesses in legal cases - sometimes without knowing much about the laws involved.
Juvenile justice centers have a long tradition as an unfortunate stop for young offenders who need mental health care.
Brings the field completely up-to-date and focuses in particular on aspects of vulnerability, confabulation and false confessions.
A modern, interdisciplinary resource aimed at students and professionals interested in the intersection of psychology, criminal justice, sociology, and criminology.
A thoughtful and evidence-driven examination of contemporary technology's impact on society and human behavior.
A two-volume handbook that explores the theories and practice of correctional psychology
Addresses the interface of psychology and law and draws from the related discipline of criminal justice.
The state-of-the-art on the full landscape of research on antisocial behavior that employs psychopathy as a central correlate.
Surveys everything from the beginnings of police psychology and early influences on the profession; to pre-employment screening, assessment, and evaluation; to clinical interventions.
Summarizes and compares basic methods of statistical inference (frequentist, likelihoodist, and Bayesian) for trace and other evidence that links individuals to crimes.
An effort to understand male mental health in a way that facilitates a positive step forward in both theory and treatment.
A thorough overview of all the normative sexualities, genders and relationship forms alongside psychological and intersectional areas relating to sexuality and gender.
Explores topics such as how gender intersects with developmental processes both in infancy and childhood and throughout later life stages, and the ways in which gender can affect psychological outcomes and influence behaviour.
A review of research on the mental health of sexual minorities-defined as those who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, queer, or same-gender attracted; as well as the mental health of gender minorities.
This collection introduces the field of Critical Heterosexualities Studies and key lines of inquiry within the field.
A much-needed holistic overview of disability and sexuality research and scholarship.
Outlines design considerations, methods, and analytical techniques that can improve ecological validity and help researchers to avoid pitfalls in cross-cultural psychology.
There has recently been an escalated interest in the interface between psychology and economics. The Cambridge Handbook of Psychology and Economic Behaviour is a valuable reference dedicated to improving our understanding of the economic mind and economic behaviour.
Sociocultural psychology is a discipline located at the crossroads between the natural and social sciences and the humanities. This international overview of the field provides an antireductionist and comprehensive account of how experience and behaviour arise from human action with cultural materials in social practices.
The science and practice of psychology has evolved around the world on different trajectories and timelines, yet with a convergence on the recognition of the need for a human science that can confront the challenges facing the world today.
Designed as an introduction to the field of organizational psychology, this encyclopedia provides a broad survey of the field, attempting to cover all relevant topics. Includes a Reader's Guide for easier navigation, which is split into 14 sections according to theme.
Examining key themes and topics from within this dynamic and expanding field of psychology, this work offers a truly cross-cultural and global perspective.
A Wiley Blackwell Handbook of Organizational Psychology focusing on occupational safety and workplace health. The editors draw on their collective experience to present thematically structured material from leading thinkers and practitioners in the USA, Europe, and Asia Pacific
During the past 30 years, the study of racial and ethnic minority issues in psychology has evolved to what can be considered a significant and rapidly growing subfield within psychology. This volume represent a thorough overview of the psychology of racial, ethnic and minority issues.
Comprehensive and regularly updated.
Co-occurring psychiatric conditions are extremely common among people who have autism spectrum disorder (ASD).
Provides a bridge between medical practice and social and cultural research drawing on authentic investigations.
Applications of positive psychology in the field of intellectual and developmental disabilities.
Provides a broad look at scholarship in this developing field and across different groups of people with disability.
ADHD, behavior and emotional disorders, ASD, intellectual disabilities, learning disabilities, dyslexia, language and communication difficulties, physical and sensory disabilities.
Computational approaches dominate contemporary cognitive science, promising a unified, scientific explanation of how the mind works.
Explores the role of happiness research as a new approach to environmental social science, illustrating the links between human wellbeing, happiness and the environment.
Handbook of Novel Psychoactive Substances (NPS) provides a comprehensive overview of the challenges that clinicians face when dealing with NPS.
The psychological assessment of situations is a new area of research, particularly within the fields of personality and social psychology.
The book analyses yoga and meditation studies in a variety of religious, historical and geographical settings.
Brings together world-leading experts to provide a comprehensive and up-to-date overview of evolution-oriented and influenced fields.
Demonstrates the central role psychological science plays in addressing some of the world's most pressing problems.
This is an in-depth encyclopedia aimed at students interested in interdisciplinary perspectives on human communication--both normal and disordered--across the lifespan.
Achieving and maintaining good health can be difficult task, as this requires the adoption of behaviors, habits, and lifestyles that are challenging for a variety of reasons.
Certain types and patterns of digital technology use have been associated with mental health concerns.
The Handbook provides overage of contemporary theory, research, and practice on behavior change.
Synthesizes the growing body of research on wise interventions--brief, nonclinical strategies that are "wise" to the impact of social-psychological processes on behavior.
