Philosophy Resources at the UTM Library

The Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy is a unique one-volume reference work which makes a broad range of richly varied philosophical, ethical and theological traditions accessible to a wide audience. The Companion is divided into six sections covering the main traditions within Asian thought: Persian; Indian; Buddhist; Chinese; Japanese; and Islamic philosophy. Each section contains a collection of chapters which provide comprehensive coverage of the origins of the tradition, its approaches to, for example, logic and languages, and to questions of morals and society. The chapters also contain useful histories of the lives of the key influential thinkers, as well as a thorough analysis of the current trends.

The Concise Encyclopedia offers a lively, readable, comprehensive and authoritative treatment of Western philosophy as a whole, incorporating articles by many leading philosophical authors.

This Encyclopedia offers a fresh, integrated and creative perspective on the formation and foundations of philosophy and science in European modernity. Combining careful contextual reconstruction with arguments from traditional philosophy, the book examines methodological dimensions, breaks down traditional oppositions such as rationalism vs. empiricism, calls attention to gender issues, to ‘insiders and outsiders’, minor figures in philosophy, and underground movements, among many other topics.

An authoritative reference source for philosophy. The Encyclopedia of Philosophy covers philosophy and many of the points of contact between philosophy and other disciplines. The Encyclopedia includes Eastern and Western philosophy; ancient, medieval, and modern philosophy; and the theories of mathematicians, physicists, biologists, sociologists, psychologists, moral reformers, and religious thinkers who have had an impact on philosophy.

Peer-reviewed articles contributed by professional philosophers and graduate students.

Authoritative research guides to essential literature in subjects across the humanities and social sciences. Each subject module in Oxford Bibliographies Online covers a range of topics from general overviews to highly-specialized themes. Each entry provides a synoptic, bibliographic guide to the key literature and most useful online resources in a given area of research.

A distinguished international assembly of 291 philosophers have contributed over 2,000 entries to the second edition of The Oxford Companion to Philosophy. This comprehensive and authoritative reference addresses key concepts, doctrines, schools of thought, discussion of practical issues, individual thinkers and philosophical terms as applied to a fascinating range of current topics.

Clear and authoritative definitions. Covers all areas of philosophy and contains terms from the related fields of religion, science, and logic.

An open access scholarly dynamic reference work for philosophy. entries in the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy focus on philosophical issues and arguments, particularly in discussions of topics in contemporary philosophy. The Encyclopedia is published by The Metaphysics Research Lab at Stanford University.

The Philosophy Student Writer's Manual and Reader's Guide, Fourth Edition, is a set of instructions and exercises that sequentially develop citizenship, academic, and professional skills while providing students with knowledge about a wide range of philosophical concepts, phenomena, and information sources.

Writing Philosophy: A Student's Guide to Reading and Writing Philosophy Essays, Second Edition, is a concise, self-guided manual that covers how to read philosophy and the basics of argumentative essay writing. It encourages students to master fundamental skills quickly--with minimal instructor input--and provides step-by-step instructions for each phase of the writing process, from formulating a thesis, to creating an outline, to writing a final draft, supplementing this tutorial approach with model essays, outlines, introductions, and conclusions.