Research guides: POL115 Evidence and Argument in the Study of Politics: Newspaper Articles

Finding Newspapers

Use the databases below to search for newspaper and magazine articles.

Search Strategy:

Brainstorm simple keywords, such as the name of a person, place, organization, institution, branch of government, movement, etc. Keep a list of the keywords that you use in your search.
Identify a date range to narrow your search.
Use quotation marks around search terms that are more than one word. For example, "Justin Trudeau".
Click 'Newspapers' in the Source Type box on the Advanced Search page to limit your search.
You can filter your search results using the Publication title drop-down on the left-hand side of the Search Results page.

Canadian Newsstream
Access to Canadian news sources from Canada's leading newspaper publishers. Content includes articles, columns, editorials, and features. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s and 1980s. Major newspapers include Toronto Star, Globe and Mail, and The National Post.
US Newsstream
Access to the full text of over 1300 newspapers, news websites, and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. ProQuest Newsstand includes backfiles for most newspapers, providing access to articles, columns, editorials, obituaries, and features published in each paper. Major newspapers include the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, The Guardian, and many other national and regional titles. ProQuest Newsstand provides local, regional and national news.
International Newsstream
English language publications only. International Newsstream provides the most recent news content from outside of the U.S. and Canada with archives that stretch back decades. The comprehensive collection features newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and digital-only news sites in full-text format. Over 800 of the world's top news sources such as The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications are included in the collection.