Research guides: OCT1233 Occupational Therapy Practice 3: PESTLE sources

PESTLE analysis resources

What does PESTLE stand for?

○ Policy, Regulatory and Political situation and trends
○ Economic (micro and macro) situation and trends affecting a problem space and the actors in it
○ Social and Cultural situation and trends affecting a problem space and the actors in it
○ Technological development and scientific discovery state of the art and trends
○ Legal environment and trends
○ Environmental conditions and trends

Political sources

Political factors can include policy, issues, leadership, current events and trends on relevant topics

Sources: News, government docs, white papers, grey literature/Google advanced search

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database containing full‐text journals and business press titles as well as key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to research providing a Canadian perspective on topics including agriculture, business and economics, education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and more.

UTL guides to government information
Guides to Canadian and foreign government information compiled by U of T librarians.

Economic sources

Economic factors include the current and projected economic health, employment rates, labour costs, inflation, income and spending, and trends.

Sources: Industry reports, macro-economic analysis, forecasts, statistics

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
In-depth Canadian, U.S., and global industry reports, with expert summary reports and specialized reports on niche industries.

Financial statements of government organizations and business enterprises - Ontario
Find the individual financial statements of government organizations (including hospitals, colleges and school boards), trusts under administration, government business enterprises and other organizations on their websites.
Ontario Economic Accounts
Ontario's economic performance and outlook including GDP, wages, expenditures and other benchmarks.
2022 Ontario Economic Report
The Ontario Economic Report (OER) is the landmark research platform of the Ontario Chamber of Commerce (OCC), offering a unique perspective on the experience of businesses of all sizes across the province. The OER is a data-driven, evidence-based document rooted in the OCC’s annual survey of its members, the Business Confidence Survey (BCS).
Canadian Centre for Health Economics
The Canadian Centre for Health Economics (CCHE) strives to be a focal point for health economics research in Canada and aims to provide solutions to health policy issues while advancing theoretical and econometric modeling techniques.
UTL International Economic Statistics Guide
Resource guide with links to international economic statistical sources prepared by prepared by Sam-chin Li, University of Toronto Libraries

Social sources

Social factors can include population demographics (age, gender, race, family size); health conditions and statistics, attitudes, opinions, and behaviours; socio-cultural factors, trends, and quality of living.

Sources can include social surveys, statistical sources, white papers, news, academic articles.

Canadian Institute for Health Information: Data and Reports
A key source of statistics on the Canadian health care system. CIHI is an independent, not-for-profit organization which holds a range of health system databases (compiled from provincial health agencies). CIHI publishes statistical tables, reports and analyses. Researchers can also apply to access additional data (fees and wait times apply).
Indigenous Health Resources
This guide is meant as a starting point for University of Toronto students interested in Indigenous Health Resources. This guide will be of particular interest to students who are engaged in research on Indigenous health and Indigenous public health, especially students of the Waakebiness-Bryce Institute for Indigenous Health. Produced by Desmond Wong, UTL
Statistics Canada Health Statistics Portal
Data and statistics produced by Canada's statistical agency related to health.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.

Technological sources

Technological factors affect how goods and services are currently and eventually produced and distributed, and how companies and organizations communicate with users, customers, and other stakeholders.

Sources can include industry and technology reports, news, patent databases, academic articles.

eMarketer This link opens in a new window
Research on digital marketing, social media, online advertising, and e-commerce. Includes demographics of online consumers and marketing and advertising performance benchmarks.
Frost & Sullivan This link opens in a new window
In-depth market research and strategy reports in 15 major sectors with a focus on new market opportunities and disruptive technologies.

UTL Patent Searching Guide
Links to patent and trademark offices, search tips, classifications, citation information, statistics, books, and tutorials on patent searching.

Legal sources

Legal factors include public health and safety; rights and freedoms, standards, and legislation.

Health Canada Acts and Regulations
Health Canada administers many pieces of legislation and develops and enforces regulations under this legislation that have a direct impact on the health and safety of Canadians. The Department consults with the Canadian public, industry, non-governmental organizations (NGOs) and other interested parties in the development of these laws. Health Canada also prepares guidelines in order to help interpret and clarify legislation and regulations.
Ontario Public Health Standards
Standards for programs and services in Ontario including protocols, guidelines and reference documents. Created by the Ministry of Health and Ministry of Long-Term Care.
Public Health Agency of Canada
The Public Health Agency of Canada's website provides statistics and reports on a range of infectious and chronic diseases, drawing on data from Statistics Canada surveys as well as administrative data from organizations like CIHI.
UTL Health Law research guide
Includes introductory textbooks and other sources of Health Law information in Canada. Created by the Bora Laskin Law Library.
Ontario Occupational Health and Safety Act
Learn about the Occupational Health and Safety Act and supporting regulations and how they protect workers.

Environmental sources

Environmental factors such as pollution levels, sustainable materials, and exposure to toxic chemicals can impact health outcomes and quality of life.

UN Sustainable Development Goals
Adopted by all United Nations Member States in 2015, provides a shared blueprint for peace and prosperity for people and the planet, now and into the future. At its heart are the 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), which are an urgent call for action by all countries - developed and developing - in a global partnership.
UTL Environmental statistics guide
A guide to environmental statistical resources prepared by Sam-chin Li, University of Toronto Libraries

Research Guides

OCT1233 Occupational Therapy Practice 3

PESTLE analysis resources

What does PESTLE stand for?

See also:

Political sources

Economic sources

Social sources

Technological sources

Legal sources

Environmental sources

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us