Smithells is the only single volume work which provides data on all key apsects of metallic materials. Smithells has been in continuous publication for over 50 years. This 8th Edition represents a major revision. Four new chapters have been added for this edition. these focus on; * Non conventional and emerging materials - metallic foams, amorphous metals (including bulk metallic glasses), structural intermetallic compounds and micr/nano-scale materials. * Techniques for the modelling and simulation of metallic materials. * Supporting technologies for the processing of metals and alloys. * An Extensive bibliography of selected sources of further metallurgical information, including books, journals, conference series, professional societies, metallurgical databases and specialist search tools.

Introduction to Plastics Engineering provides a single reference covering the basics of polymer and plastics materials, and their properties, design, processing and applications in a practical way. The book discusses materials engineering through properties formulation, combining part design and processing to produce final products. This book will be a beneficial guide to materials engineers developing new formulations, processing engineers producing those formulations, and design and product engineers seeking to understand the materials and methods for developing new applications. The book incorporates material properties, engineering, processing, design, applications and sustainable and bio based solutions. Ideal for those just entering the industry, or transitioning between sectors, this is a quick, relevant and informative reference guide to plastics engineering and processing for engineers and plastics practitioners. Provides a single unified reference covering plastics materials, properties, design, processing and applications Offers end-to-end coverage of the industry, from formulation to part design, processing, and the final product Serves as an ideal introductory book for new plastics engineers and students of plastics engineering Provides a convenient reference for more experienced practitioners

This extensive knowledge base provides a coherent description of advanced topics in materials science and engineering with an interdisciplinary/multidisciplinary approach. The book incorporates a historical account of critical developments and the evolution of materials fundamentals, providing an important perspective for materials innovations, including advances in processing, selection, characterization, and service life prediction. It includes the perspectives of materials chemistry, materials physics, engineering design, and biological materials as these relate to crystals, crystal defects, and natural and biological materials hierarchies, from the atomic and molecular to the macroscopic, and emphasizing natural and man-made composites. This expansive presentation of topics explores interrelationships among properties, processing, and synthesis (historic and contemporary). The book serves as both an authoritative reference and roadmapnbsp;of advanced materials concepts for practitioners, graduate-level students, and faculty coming from a range of disciplines.

This book presents the state-of-the-art in quality and reliability engineering from a product life-cycle standpoint. Topics in reliability include reliability models, life data analysis and modeling, design for reliability as well as accelerated life testing and reliability growth analysis, while topics in quality include design for quality, acceptance sampling and supplier selection, statistical process control, production tests such as environmental stress screening and burn-in, warranty and maintenance. The book provides comprehensive insights into two closely related subjects, and includes a wealth of examples and problems to enhance readers' comprehension and link theory and practice. All numerical examples can be easily solved using Microsoft Excel. The book is intended for senior undergraduate and postgraduate students in related engineering and management programs such as mechanical engineering, manufacturing engineering, industrial engineering and engineering management programs, as well as for researchers and engineers in the quality and reliability fields. Dr. Renyan Jiang is a professor at the Faculty of Automotive and Mechanical Engineering, Changsha University of Science and Technology, China.

This book provides a comprehensive framework and practical tools to support environmentally sustainable design processes. It puts forward an articulated vision of methods, tools and strategies for the integration of environmental requirements into product development, and highlights potential strategies and design guidelines, accompanied by a large selection of high-quality, environmentally aware product design case studies. The book is divided into three parts.