MGT371H5: Business Technology Management

Access: Click on the 'myGartner Login' button and authenticate using your UTORid
- Covers technology products, services and trends, IT management, IT strategy and governance, and support for IT decision-making at an enterprise level
- Select the Advanced Search option to search by keywords and to filter by industry or content (report) type
- Can also search within specific report categories once selected from the left-hand menu
- Key report types include Hype Cycles, which track adoption and maturity of specific technologies over time, Magic Quadrants, which analyze the competitive positioning of various vendors with a market, and Market Guides which provide overviews of technologies and their implications for business

Provides research and analysis of 15 technology-intensive sectors, with a focus on new market opportunities and emerging technology
- Search for reports with an industry-specific focus by:
1. Using the Browse option from the menu on the left. Select the appropriate industry from list. Then, refine the results by selecting one or more filters at the top (Region, Country, and Type). Click on the title of the report to access it.
2. Using the Search bar, enter a keyword (for example, blockchain). Then, refine the results by selecting one or more filters at the top (Region, Country, and Type). Click on the title of the report to access it.

- Research and statistics on all aspects of digital marketing, e-commerce and media
- Browse by topic as well as search by keyword.
- Search for ‘performance metrics’ or 'performance benchmarks' for content that offers benchmark data for digital marketing. You can also search on specific metrics, eg. CPC, CTR.

Global coverage of more than 20 industries, with focus on consumer products and services, including reports, statistics and visualization tools. Includes consumer data and packaging and ingredients information. Reports updated annually.

Pitchbook focuses on venture capital, private equity and mergers & acquisitions. Coverage includes start-ups, global markets, proprietary research and analysis.
You will need to provide your U of T email address to access.

Access: Investext is available as a separate database on the Mergent Online platform
- A database of sell-side investment research reports on companies, industries and broad trends, including emerging technology
- Using the criteria list, select the type of Search: Industry, Keyword, Company, etc.
- If you're doing a keyword search, use Boolean operators such as AND and OR to narrow your search results
- Example of a possible keyword search: "artificial intelligence" AND healthcare
- Always click Submit after selecting criteria for your search
- Click View to see a list of results. To open the report, click on the Adobe icon under the Report column (last on the right)

Global company search engine featuring company profiles, capital stock information, reports, subsidiaries, and more.

Comprehensive database containing full‐text journals and business press titles as well as key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports.

Full text and citations of business journals, including accounting, economics, finance, management, management information systems, marketing and international business.

- A global news database of 30,000+ news and media sources, including newspapers, business and industry periodicals, newswires, broadcast transcripts, press releases, blogs and other media
- Enter keywords in the main Free Text Search box at the top and connect them with AND or OR. Then, use one or more filters from the list below the search box to refine your search
- For example, in the main search box enter: "artificial intelligence" AND healthcare
- Click on Sources or Industry or Content Types from the list of filters, and enter a specific news source (eg. Wall Street Journal), or the name of an industry (or browse for an industry using the pull-down menu), or browse for a specific type of news content to add to your search. Click on the small blue arrow next to a source, industry or content type to add it to your search
- Select a date range, or leave the default of 3 months in place
- Click on Search (bottom, right)
- On the results page, refine your search using the available filters on the left if necessary
- Click on an article and look for the pdf symbol above it to download in 'article format'