Research guides: HIS242H5: Contemporary European History: Foundations, Foundational Resources

How to Use Oxford Bibliographies Online

★ Oxford Bibliographies Online provides annotated bibliographies, which help you find primary sources and secondary sources, such as scholarly books, chapters, and articles.

Click and login with UTORID.

Oxford Bibliographies Online

0:00 -- Oxford Bibliographies Online is a tool, not for citing
1:35 -- Simple Search
2:46 -- India 'Mutiny' and 'Revolution,' 1857-1858 (entry) as an example
4:34 -- Finding Primary Sources and Secondary Sources
8:23 -- Get Help

Sample Reference Sources

Oxford Reference: History

A History of Law in Europe: From the Early Middle Ages to the Twentieth Century by Antonio Padoa-Schioppa; Caterina Fitzgerald (Translator)
Publication Date: 2017 (E-Book)
Part VI - The Twentieth Century
The Cambridge History of Modern European Thought: Volume 2, the Twentieth Century by Warren Breckman (Editor); Peter E. Gordon (Editor)
Publication Date: 2017 (E-Book)
Volume 2: The Twentieth Century — Comprised of twenty-one chapters, it focuses on figures such as Freud, Heidegger, Adorno and Arendt, surveys major schools of thought including Phenomenology, Existentialism, and Conservatism, and discusses critical movements such as Postcolonialism, Structuralism, and Post-structuralism.
A Dictionary of 20th-Century Communism by Silvio Pons (Editor); Robert Service (Editor)
Call Number: HX40 .D5913 2010
Publication Date: 2010
This book provides encyclopedic coverage of communism and its impact throughout the world in the 20th century. It explains what communism was, the forms it took, and the enormous role it played in world history from the Russian Revolution through the collapse of the Soviet Union and beyond.

Origin of Words

You may find this source useful when working with primary source documents. The meaning of words can evolve over time.

Oxford English Dictionary Online (OED)
To take advantage of OED, take a look at the Video guides
Entries in the OED are supported by quotation evidence with real examples of words in use shown throughout the written record.
The primary function of OED quotations is to illustrate the way a word or sense is used through its history from its earliest use to the present day or, in the case of obsolete words and senses, the last period during which it was in use.

Biography

These collections can provide valuable information about key figures in history. Many entries will list sources for the individual and identify key works written by the person. Once you can identify the title of a publication, you can search in the UTL catalogue or primary source text collections.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (DNB)